latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Crystallia -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was born 23 fun-filled years ago in a tiny little tourist trap in Northern California, somehow or another I ended up living in Quebec. I live with my boyfriend Luc (pronounced Luke) and my cat Sierra . I have 1 sister, 1 brother and four stepsisters. No, we did not all live in the same house. Thank goodness. I get along beautifully with my mother. I have great respect for that woman. My years growing up were fairly normal with the exception of me going completely psycho at age 18 *pant pant drool*. I live with depression. I deal with it. I don't take drugs for it. I've always been extremely opinionated, and it's gotten me into trouble quite often *embraces her diary*. I've also been in a healthy (for the first time in my life!) relationship for the past year and a half.

Why did you choose this username?

It's the name of an area I built for the MUD I own and opperate. It's the name of a Faerie Town that has been taken over by a nasty troll! Oh my! It doesn't have real special meaning for me as a d'lander, but I love the magical atmosphere of the area.

Why do you keep a diary online?

A friend of mine had one. I thought it was a pretty nifty idea, and decided to sign up. I've only kept one paper journal in my entire life. I loved it. However, it quickly lost its appeal when it fell into the wrong hands. Am I an attention whore? Nahh, I do however, like the thought of people reading my thoughts and opinions.

A lot of the reasons I continue to keep a diary, I think is because I am so isolated here. I moved to Quebec about a year ago, and I still struggle through the language and I don't have anyone (besides my boyfriend) to talk with. Writing and re-reading my entries help me as a person to put my thoughts in order, and it allows me to have something to rant at besides my kitty.

I love to write. I used to write angst-filled poetry but gave it up when I decided to try and write stories instead. I'm currently working on two books. One is a biography the other a fiction novel. My diary helps my thoughts flow.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think a layout is very important. I have a crusty moniter that I ripped off of my old 486, and I cannot see most "dark" layouts unless I highlight with my mouse. This proves to be a pain, and rather than take the trouble to read it, I just pass it by. Other then that, I don't think it's important for me. I'll gladly read a template if the writing draws me in.

Ahhh my layout. I wanted something: simple. easily viewed, and purple! I designed most of it. I wish I could take credit for all of it, but I can't. My wonder-if-ic boyfriend wrote a lot> of the HTML. Call me snobbish, but I didn't want to use a design someone else made.

You shared with us brilliantly about people in general and their need especially in public chat rooms. ( The passage about those who constantly bitch and complain was great! ) How do you think the internet has changed society as a whole in regards to how we interact with others?

Oh it's changed things immensly! Here's a hypothetical situation. Say you were sitting at a dinner party. You enjoy yourself and well into the evening you're: eating, drinking, talking softly to your neighbor; would someone in that situation behave the way some do on chatlines? I doubt it. I cannot imagine someone suddenly jumping up and shouting "I'M GOING TO KILL MYSELF" (I hate to say it, but if you're truely going to kill yourself you're probably not going to announce it to the world, or switch on your computer and go into a chatroom to announce it to your online buddies. It's more likely than not, a way to grab attention.) or suddenly ripping off their clothes and saying "Look at me, I've got huge tits!" (That one I would love to see actually..."Strip! Strip!" errrrr *blush*.) I think the internet, and especially chatrooms give people the oportunity to act in a way that they would not in real life.

In your diary, you talk about your girlfriends, and that you can't imagine being "that close". Why do you think that is?

I don't have an answer for that question really. I have a general mis-trust of females. I find most of them extremely territorial and some of them downright catty. I've never been able to get "that" close to someone of the same gender. It's not any one incident that caused me to feel this way, I guess it has a lot to do with the fact that I was/am somewhat of a tomboy. I always prefered mudpuddles to cabbage-patch kids.

You hit the nail on the head when you state that "I've found lately are just full of either superfiscial crap, or merely there for shock value. I think writing in a diary is a wonderful thing, I just think too many people worry about the opinions of others (in otherwords, looking cool, or being 'respected' for saying the F word as many times as humanly possible in one entry) when they sit down to write." Why do you think other people who keep online diaries worry so much about what others think? Aren't diaries suppose to be a reflection of your own personal thought?

I think it has a lot to do with how clique-ish the internet is (and how diaries have become!). Having an online diary appears to be the "hip" thing to do, so instead of using this wonderful place in internet-land to journal their feelings, and/or daily lives, people use their diaries to compete in some silly popularity contest. People tend to cater towards their readers, something I vowed not to do. Writing is a beautiful expression that is cheapened drastically when you begin writing for someone instead of yourself. Someone can easily respond "If you don't like it, don't read it"..Rest assured, I won't.

Okay here's the last question, which is our fun question -- Tell us how it felt to stick your hands up the butt of a Turkey!

I've had so many comments on that entry! I won't lie to you. It wasn't pleasant. Just call me Proctologist Shelley! I will say though, he was delicious!

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

10:46 p.m.
2001-11-04

crystallia

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top