latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Biscuit -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I'm just a kid in a seveteen year old's body. It was a humid July 4th afternoon in Johnson City, New York in 1984, and I was birthed. WooWoo. *angels sing, doves fly about lovely like* Yeah. We moved to Arizona, where I live currently, when I was just a wee one. And suddenly... I grew up. I'm a senior in high school with three younger brothers and a younger sister. I believe, and know, that Jesus is the only way to get to Heaven. I also believe that it's only by the grace of God and Jesus' blood that I am still alive, when I should have been struck dead a million times. I eat, sleep, think, and breathe art. Be it music or art in the visual form. It's my life. I am a co-webmaster type person at Panheads.org. And I have the most amazing friends in the world. Whom I would be nothing without.

Why did you choose this username?

As much as I wish I had this great, fabulous story as to why I chose Biscuit as my user name, there is none. It's a simple thing, really. One day, my dad, who has this strange habit of coming up with really weird nicknames, started calling me Biscuit. I dunno why, he just thought it was befitting, I guess. At first I didn't really like the nickname, but after a while it stuck and not only did I get used to it, but I became proud to be Biscuit.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I've always tried to keep a paper journal but for some reason that just never quite worked well enough for me to keep it up. My mom would always see me writing in it and pry and try and get out of me what I was writing. I decided to keep an online diary after reading Ginger's diary. It seemed like a pretty neat thing to do, so I thought why not. I see this now, as a big history book, basically. It's a place I can always refer to so that I can remind myself of how I felt, how I reacted to things, how life was at seventeen years old. Plus, it makes for great memories. I was just reading through year old entries the other day and by doing so, remembered so many things I'd forgotten and just had to absolutely laugh out loud at some of those things. It's good to be able to look back and laugh and cry and hurt sometimes. It helps remind us that we're alive, ya know.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think layouts are pretty important. The way your diary is set up is the first thing that people notice. If something isn't visually stimulating, the chances of people wanting to stay and actually read into you, are pretty slim. I know that I am guilty of stereotyping diaries by the designs they bear. If I see someone with one of the templates, I think that this person doesn't have the time to invest into this diary properly, doesn't care enough, and is generally pretty boring. Now that's not always true, I know. When I first started reading Crayon he had the blue template. I think that when a person takes the time to invest into a nice design for their diary, it shows that it means something to them. Even if it's something really simple and basic. It's hard for me to not judge a diary by it's cover.

As for my design, I love writing new html for my diary. I think it's really fun. I love being in Photoshop playing with all the filters and stuff and trying to make something that people are going to think is really neat. With the layout I've got up now, there's about six hours of work in it, and while it was frustrating at the time, it bears the mark of my pride in it. I think that creating something that you think is beautiful and that other's think is beautiful too has a certain rewarding value to it. Yes, some wonderful writers can be hidden behind templates sometimes, however, I feel that the layout and design of a diary is at least 60% of what makes the diary.

What is the most creative thing you have done to date?

Oooh. That's a real toughie. Let me start by saying that I'm an artist. I try to make everything that I do creative. It's hard to say what is the 'most' creative thing I've done so far. I do so much. I'm a painter, I'm a photo realist, I'm a poet, I'm a writer, I'm a musician, I'm a scupltor, I'm a lover. I've drawn things before and been in awe of the realistic quality of them; I've said and written things that I thought were so beautiful that I kept rereading it or saying it over; I've desgined layouts that I've just stared at. There's so much that I do and that I've done, I really don't know. Living, maybe.

Living is a pretty creative thing.

If you could give one tip to every human being on the planet - and be sure they'd observe it - what would it be?

Love. Love absolutely unconditionally. Love like your heart has never been broken before and never will be. Love someone beyond your own capacity of understanding. And always, always tell that person exactly how much you love, exactly every time you think it.

Love really is a simple thing. A lot of people don't understand that. (A lot of people also don't understand that 'a lot' is two words.) It's not as hard as everybody makes it out to be. But yeah, I think everybody, no matter who they are, deserves to experience an awesome love. Both being and doing. Love is most perfect thing in this entire universe.

Who would you consider dangerous enough to invite for tea?

When I think of dangerous, I don't think of someone like Hannibal Lecter or Jefferey Dahmer or Charles Manson. No.. I think of someone with a voice. Someone who has something to say and says it no matter what. Someone frighteningly intelligent. If I were to have a big 'Dangerous Person Tea Party' these are the people who would be sitting around my table: Sylvia Plath, William Shakespeare, Albert Einstien, Karl Marx, Ani DiFranco, Anne Frank, e.e. cummings, and Gaston Leroux.

They may not seem dangerous, but they were, because of who they were. I would want people at my table that I could talk to. That would make me think so hard that I had to take a break. I want people who would confuse me, and then explain everything so much that it seems obvious.

Which animals have the most interesting things to say?

Well, Ducks, or course. That's just common sense.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

10:08 a.m.
2001-10-10

biscuit

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top