latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Rockstarkat -

My name is Kat and I am going to be 25 on November 20th, which happens to be my Dad's 50th birthday as well. :) I live in a suburb of Minneapolis, although I am 100% city chick. I have lived in Minnesota most of my life, and have two parents that are still together, a sister who is 22, and two brothers, ages 18 and 12. I live with my good friend Wayne, who is 20 years older than I am, in his house with his two cats, Cheyanna and Rock. Right now I am unemployed due to illness, but hopefully will be well enough to work part-time soon. I do freelance web design on the side right now. I am also going to start school soon, studying esthiology, which is the science of maintaining the skin. I hope to work with burn victims and people who have had major reconstructive surgery. I have been practicing Wicca for over 10 years, and teach basic Wicca to those that want to learn. In my spare time, I write poetry and erotic fiction as well as writing in my diary, I spend time with my friends, go out and be a karaoke diva, I paint music, and love to cook, mostly Asian food. Being a musician all my life, I love many types of music, mostly old school punk rock and glam rock. Country music makes my ears bleed. You could pick me out of a crowd - I'm the one with the interesting outfit, the unique jewelry, the outrageous hair-do, and the creative make-up job. :)

Why did you choose this username?

Ever heard the term "party like a rockstar"? That's what my life is like, usually when I'm not ill. I have many friends in bands, I go see live shows, I've sang with a few bands, etc. I love the music scene, especially here in Minneapolis. A lot of very cool people. Besides, being a "karaoke diva", I am a rockstar in my own right. *laugh*

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

Honestly, I think I have a unique life, or at least very different from a lot of young people. I have two illnesses, Lupus and Fibromyalgia. Not a lot of young people get Fibromyalgia. I like to write about my thoughts and feelings, and getting feedback from people I don't know, neutral people, is healthy for me. Besides, when I write about something I may not be happy about in a paper journal, I feel like I'm hiding it. When I write about it on diaryland, I feel like I'm setting it free. It's very cathartic.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think it's important to express the unique creativity of the user. Not everyone knows how to fool around with their layout, but there are a lot of wonderful people on diaryland (me included!) who will help create something that reflects who you are.

I didn't like the first layout I had because it could not be seen in Netscape and as much as I tried, I couldn't fix it. Some of the new friends I made through diaryland couldn't see my diary. So I changed it to the new layout, and I'm much more happy with it. It's much more simple, and reflects my personality a bit more.

What does a Wiccan initiation ceremony involve?

This really depends on what tradition your coven is, or if you are solitary, like I am now. (Solitary means you practice alone.) I was initiated into an eclectic coven, which means we took a little bit from each different tradition. To keep my oath to my former coven, I cannot reveal what their initiation ritual was, but I can tell you about the initiations I do when one of my students is ready. We go to a place that is special to the initiate, one that makes them feel closest with Nature. The initiates hands are bound behind their back. We exchange a few words regarding the responsibilites and feelings of being a Wiccan, I anoint the initiate with a special oil and kiss them with what is called a Five Fold Kiss. The initiate pledges their life to walk the Wiccan path, introduces themselves to diety with the magickal name they have chosen, then I undo the cords binding their hands, raise them up with mine and tell them they are now born as a Wiccan. We hug and kiss, and afterwards, have a nice meal. It is a very special, moving ritual.

What makes you really angry?

Mostly, doctors who think, because I'm young, I'm actually not in as much pain as I am, and won't prescribe me anything for it because of fears that I'm going to abuse them or sell them or something. Therefore, because I'm being discriminated against, I can't get the help that some other people can. My illnesses sometimes make me angry. The fact that one of my best friends had a child with a married man makes me angry. The fact that marijuana is still illegal makes me angry. It could benefit a lot of people out there who are ill like I am.

You've called your diary sex, drugs and rock 'n roll. You have all these elements in your life. What are your views on drugs?

I like the fact that I could use that line and make it true to my lifestyle, without having to do hard drugs. (Just for the record, I don't consider marijuana a "hard drug" since I know how much it helps people like me with chronic problems, however, I do not abuse it.) I am prescribed a huge amount of drugs for my illnesses, everything from painkillers, sleep pills, arthritis treatments, immune suppressors, and more. Those are the "drugs" in my life. Since I have done street drugs in the past, I know how much they can mess you up and I don't associate myself with anyone that does them. If you do hard drugs, you have no respect for yourself - all you're doing is hurting yourself. These people need to gain a little more self- respect and start loving themselves enough to not waste their lives away.

You love Punk Rock. You have an interest in skincare and make-up. What's the craziest thing you've done with your looks?

In high school, I colored my hair every color of the rainbow. I pierced my septum - the piece of skin between your nostrils on your nose. I wore extravagant make-up, drawing my eyeliner out like Cleopatra. I wore skirts, ripped black tights and combat boots. When I graduated from high school, I had dread locks, and I dyed them purple. My parents were always wonderful about letting me express my creativity, even if they had their little comments about it.Now, I color my hair bright red, and still wear interesting make-up from time to time. Also, I do think my wardrobe expresses my individuality. I believe that my body is my personal canvas, and make- up and such is my art. :)

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

10:36 p.m.
2001-10-14

rockstarkat

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top