latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Weetabix

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I'm a 30 year old with two cats and a husband. I live in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Woooo. Feel the excitement. I have a degree in English (Creative Writing) and Psychology from the University of Wisconsin and have done a little graduate work but nothing spectacular. My job is so utterly boring I hate to pain you with the details, but since this is Interview, I will: I work in technical support and do some software development and training for a major marketing research firm. Blah. Couldn't you just cry for me? I sure am glad that every penny of my college education has not gone to waste.

If I could be any tree, I would be a willow tree because.... oh, you didn't ask that, did you.

Why did you choose this username?

A few seasons back on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Spike a sexy British vampire mentioned that he liked to crumble Weetabix in his blood to give it texture. The day after that episode aired, I first logged onto a fabulous website MightyBigTV and used "Weetabix" as my user name as sort of a tongue in cheek homage to the very sexy drool-o-licious Spike. It appealed to me also in that I had munched on Weetabix the Cereal almost exclusively during the summer I spent in London and missed it. As a moniker, it makes sense to me as it also sounds very close to my real first name.

Why do you keep a diary online?

Hi. My name is Weetabix and I-- (sob!)--I'm a diary whore.

It started as a lark. I wanted to encourage myself to write more and I liked the idea of being able to write at work and still have access to it from home. Having an online diary has had the added benefit of getting to know a lot of fabulous people online. I am also addicted to my statistics...and I check my guestbook no less than five times a day.

There must be a support group for this somewhere. I am Jack's deviated septum.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Um.... well, I had one of the templates for the longest time and it didn't bother me. The one thing I had added with my limited HTML skill was my Chubby Tink, because I identified with her and I liked the audacity of displaying a Disney icon made to look like a real woman. That's my feeble attempt at being a bad ass feminist, you see. Plus, I kind of wish I had a cute short green dress and little wings and make magical sparkles fly from my fingertips.

Now, however, Dead Dog created a great new layout for me, incorporating the whole Weetabix thing and still managing to salvage Tink. It's way too cool for me. I'm not cool enough for that layout.

As for layouts in general, I don't put too much stock into them. The words count. If what you're saying isn't worth reading, the layout doesn't really matter too much. On the other hand, I really can't stand a page full of fluttering butterflies, a comet cursor and tons of annoying music. If I encounter that on a page, I don't stick around to see if the writing is worthwhile. It's kind of like meeting a new person... if the person is screaming in your face, has halitosis, and is stomping on your foot, you don't really care about their views on cloning or Britney Spear's new video.

Share with our readers your Mammogram experience.

It's all about boobs with you people, isn't it?

Essentially, dominatrixes need day jobs too, and I had the great misfortune of getting a mammogram from one awhile back. As my favorite things to write about on my page are boobs and farts, it was fitting that I shared it for National Breast Cancer Awareness month.

Imagine yourself naked to the waist, sitting in a room with pictures of cancerous breasts on the wall, disembodied breast models scattered everywhere, wrapped in a sheet which opens to the front, staring at a big medieval looking piece of machinery which is designed to squish the living daylights out of one of your favorite breasts. If you're a guy, that's probably a hard thing to do, so imagine YOUR favorite body part being squished flatter than Michael Jackson's ass in this thing.

Enter Trixie the Dominatrix who makes small talk and then reaches under your sheet and fondles you for what is possibly eighty-four hours. Then Miss Trixie leads you by said body part across a room where she then suspends you off the floor by this body part and squashes the hell out of it. You are given the delight of a nice window through which to view your squashed body part through... sort of a Mammary Under Glass presentation. You now know exactly how germs feel when put in a slide for viewing under a microscope by legions of high school freshmen. You try to explain that your body part is not a planarian and your cross-eyed imitation is due to the fact that you feel like road kill. You swear under your breath that if Miss Trixie comes near you, you'll bust her with your flagella.

You postulate that the machine, which you have now named "The Crusher!" complete with exclamation point, is really a device created to scare the shit out of cancer and was designed by someone who would never have a body part to be crushed in it. You swear that you will never get cancer as long as you live, provided you never have to be crushed again. Miss Trixie asks "Who's got the best Crushing Machine in town?" And you feebly reply "You Do, Miss Trixie?" She says "I can't hear you!" and threatens to crank The Crusher! down a few more notches. "YOU DO MISS TRIXIE!" Satisfied, she asks "And who is going to do her monthly breasts exams five days after her menses, using circular motions covering the entire breasts?" "I WILL MISS TRIXIE!" "Good Girl." Then she gives you thirty two lashes for having unshaved armpits.

Ok, not really. But sort of. Follow the link and see what really happened. Sheesh.

You write a lot about your husband -- He sounds fabulous, tell us how you met him, why you love him, and how he asked you to marry him.

Esteban is fabulous!
We were actually set up on a blind date, a first for both of us, by my Aunt Drizella. We met at a Chinese restaurant where my mother and all of her friends worked. That was sort of like going on a date at a family reunion, with my aunt, mother, and her good friends all gawking at us, so he suggested that we go for a drive and I promptly accepted. Normally, I wouldn't have ever dreamt of such brash actions, as I am pretty prim and proper, but my attitude that day was "What the heck?". I'm glad that he was a gentleman.

He drove us out to a lovely little beach on Lake Michigan and we stood down at the water's edge and talked. I wasn't really getting good vibes from him but when I saw a shooting star and he said "Make a wish!", I wished that everything would turn out ok with this date. As soon as I wished that, I had this weird moment of clarity when I knew that I would end up married to him. I remember thinking, "Oh GREAT! Just great!" to myself because he was kind of a geek and he had a mustache! I hate mustaches! But I kind of shrugged it off. We ended up driving around all night, talking. I got home at 7:00 A.M. the next morning. We dated for a couple of months casually. I went back to college when summer ended, and he stayed home. We saw each other on the weekends. Eventually, we were exclusive. I switched colleges to be able to live in Green Bay all the time.

Then he asked me to marry him. I said no. We were too young to make that decision. I wanted to be sure and I was terrified of making a mistake and getting divorced. Then we moved in together. He asked me to marry him again. I said "Eventually. We need to live together for at least two years first."

Three years later, we were very light on cash, as I had gone back to college full-time. Esteban's mother gave him her original diamond that his father bought for her in Vietnam in the 60's. He had a jeweler melt down the gold from his parent's wedding bands and designed a ring for it. The day he got the ring, he picked me up from work, and were on our way wherever it was we were going. Two blocks later, he asked me to marry him. He just couldn't wait. While driving. In a seedy part of the city. It was very original. I said "Yes" that time.

Why I love him? Because it's impossible not to. He is truly my best friend. And he's got a really cute tuckus.

Tell us about your experience as a Vegetarian, and why you are now back eating meat?

Wow. Of all the questions I thought you would ask, this was not one of them!

When I was growing up, my mother was an experimental natural foods type of person. We generally had at least one vegetarian dinner a week, more in the summer when the organic garden vegetables were plentiful. I was pretty accustomed to different meat substitutes and believed that TVP was actually a form of turkey.

Mainly I started to become a vegetarian during that aforementioned poor stage because meat-free alternatives were a lot cheaper and I didn't really miss it. Gradually, certain things (like ground beef) started looking unappealing, then eventually, I was disgusted by everything but certain types of fish, and even those types sometimes freaked me out. At that point, I decided it wasn't worth it, so I became a full vegetarian. It wasn't really a moral issue: I still wore leather and didn't object to other people eating meat. It was very interesting though, because I had tons of energy and didn't rely upon caffeine as much. That lasted for about a year until I started finding myself craving certain things, like fish and tenderloin steaks. Since they no longer disgusted me, I started eating them again. I can even touch raw meat now without grossing out. I'm now hooked on caffeine again, though.

You are stoned on Nitrous Oxide -- and Spike is in arms reach -- tell us Weet what would you do or say to him? Now be honest:)

When I met James Marsters, I was not my usual smooth talking self. My scintillating conversation was pretty much limited to "Uh... yeah." If I had been on Nitrous Oxide, I'm certain that I would have said "WOOOOOOOOO!!!! Baby!!!!" and then fallen asleep in his lap. Now, if we're talking the character Spike, he'd probably then bite me after making a snarky comment. Or tell me to bugger off.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

4:29 a.m.
2001-12-02

weetabix

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top