latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: megami-hoshi

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Hmm, well, it�s definitely going to be short, since I haven�t been around long. ^_^ My name is Amalia, I was born on October 22 1987, in Minneapolis Minnesota. I still live in this wonderful little city, and I love it. I am a pretty happy kid. I am in the 8th grade at a Montessori middle school of 130 people, where I am one of the more outrageous kids. My life is basically that of a typical teenager with a few twists.

Why did you choose this username?

When I started my diary I was really into this Japanese Kanji website. My friends and I would write little kanji characters everywhere. It was a good way to get away with writing bad words in class. When it came time for me to come up with a screen name, I went to the site and chose a couple words that sounded good together. Megami, which means goddess, and Hoshi, which means star. Add them together, and you get Megami-Hoshi or Goddess-Star.

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

I used to try keeping a diary. I always felt silly writing about stuff that I already knew.

It�s like talking to myself, and I could never keep it up. I think online diaries are a great way to talk about things that are on your mind, share them with your friends and complete strangers, and make new friends as well. I love attention and having people comment on my thoughts. It feels great to be recognized for my diary, because my diary is my life, it is who I am. Plus, since I�m on the computer most of the day, this was just the next step.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Personally, I find them to be pretty important. I can�t really read a diary with a diaryland template. Although the writing is what a diary is about, I am a very visual person. I love looking at beautiful things. The layout is the first thing I see when I go to a new diary. It�s what catches my eye. I�ll read any diary that seems interesting, no matter what the layout is, but I can rarely stay interested in a diary that has a pre-set template. That�s probably the main reason I started miso-happy designs recently.

I can never be like someone else. I hate conformity. I love standing out. I am a very loud and strange kid. I needed my diary to be the same, and no one can resist the power of the tiki.

Who is afraid of you and why?

Heheh, I�m sure lots of people are afraid of me. Like I said before, I�m a very loud person. If you don�t know me, I�m sure I could scare you quite a bit. For example, in gym class, I�ll have a ball and if someone else gets my ball I�ll run after them screaming in a high-pitched voice until they give it back.

I don�t really care what people think of me, so that allows me to do whatever I please. It�s mostly the kids at school who are obsessed with looking and being cool that fear me. I�m just a mystery to them. The things I do, and say. Everything about me is scary to them, and I love it. I think I might scare small children and animals too.

How have you come to terms with your bisexuality?

When I was younger I was always told that, you can never really know what your sexual preference is at such a young age. My family has always been very supportive of the gay community. Some of my favorite people are gay/lesbians. But, when it came to me being anything but straight I was convinced it wouldn�t happen to me. When I was younger, like in 5th grade, I would have some odd feelings, and I�d dismiss them and tell myself that it�s totally normal, and that there�s no way I could be gay.

In the winter of 7th grade I rented a movie called "But I�m a Cheerleader", and It was about gay teenagers. it really made me think. I had developed a bit of a "crush" on one of the female actors, but I didn�t want to admit it. That was just weird. Gay people are cool, but I�d never be one of them. Then, that spring, I started to understand bisexuality more. I have two very close friends, who were also thinking the same things as me. The three of us supported each other while we were experiencing all of these new feelings.

I just feel that I shouldn�t close off my options. I want to fall in love with a person, not a sex.

You talk about being black, yet not fitting in with other's perception of what a black person ought to be like. How do you respond to attempts of pidgeon-holing?

Being biracial is a hard thing for a lot of people, especially teenagers who just want to be accepted by their peers. There have always been stereotypes on the way a certain ethnic group is supposed to act. There has never been a stereotype for a Jewish black girl that lives in Minnesota with crazy hippie parents, so I�ve never had a "model" of how I�m supposed to act. Most biracial people I know tend to act like the people the black stereotype portrays.

I�ve always listened to my heart and done what I have wanted to do for myself. People will say things like "Why don�t you act more black?" and "Why do you want to be white?". Just because I don�t wear Fubu, and listen to rap doesn�t mean I want to be "white". It�s silly. People shouldn�t let the amount of one chemical in their body determine what kind of person they are.

The same goes for music. Music is one of the most important things in my life. I hate the fact that some people say you can only listen to one type of music. "If you listen to punk, you have to be a punk, and you cannot like Techno." I find that to be outrageous. Music is such an amazing thing, people can relate to it on so many different levels. I am such a complex person, I cannot relate to just one type of music. I am always willing to try something new, because I don�t want to let myself be restricted by a category.

Why are you afraid of babies?

Think about it, they�re small, fragile, little creatures. Sure, they�re cute, but they spit on you, scream, and pull your hair! Anything that can get away with spitting strange things on you has got to be evil. I have a new cousin as well as a neice. I love them both a lot, but I think they�re scary. They make me nervous. I�m afraid to hold them. What if you drop one? They are sort of important, so if I break one, I don�t think it�s mom will be very happy with me! ^_^

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

2:48 p.m.
2001-10-15

megami-hoshi

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top