latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: SkyPie -

Why did you choose this username?

Excellent question. It all goes back to Frank Sinatra, see. Old Blue Eyes himself. He sings this song called "High Hopes," which contains a line - "he's got high apple pie in the sky hopes." For years I thought this line was "he's got pineapple pie in the sky hopes," which doesn't really make sense exactly, but if you think of a nice golden pineapple pie shining in the sky, well, maybe it does make sense. Sort of. When someone pointed out the correct lyric to me, I still rather enjoyed my version. When I signed up for a DL page, I wanted to call it pineapplepie in honor of this cheery song, but dammit, someone had already registered pineapplepie! (And they've done nothing with it, by the way.) So I wracked my tiny brain and came up with Skypie. Which I now like better, even. So, no, it has nothing to do with moon pies.

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

Well, all the cool kids in the BUST lounge had a DL page, so I lemminged. But I don't think of Skypie as a diary in the traditional sense of the word. I use it more as a place to put random essays, entertainments, and the occasional bit of seriousness. As a writer I find it stimulating, because it's like a practice field for my work.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Layout has always been important to me when doing paper zines and such, and Skypie is no different. Originally I just used a template, but then one day out of the clear blue... sky, I got an email from the lovely lady known as Toothbrush, offering to redesign my page. Obviously I said YES YES YES and she did, really, a fantastic job. I knew I wanted it to be cherry cherry red, and I like smooth clean fonts and a slightly futuristic feel (see the Skypie logo she came up with - she nailed it!). I also wanted a quirkiness to it - like, why shouldn't there be a picture of a fish? I like fish. There's a picture of a fish. And, yes, Mr. Sinatra is represented, as the backdrop of my guestbook.

There are a number of entries in your diary about Poland. What fascinates you about Poland and why?

My best friend Julie is Polish - her parents came over from Poland when they were in their twenties, and she still has family there, so she's very much Polish and American. Since I really have little clue about my actual ethnic heritage, I adopted Poland, and Julie and her parents "adopted" me. So, despite my slightly Asian features, I always say I'm Polish if people ask "what are you?" (And they always do ask that.) The more Julie and her family taught me about Poland, its heritage, culture, language, and cuisine, the more interested I became. I also went to college with one of Lech Walesea's sons, and he was a trip in and of himself, and he gave me a lighter with Lech's portrait on it. I've never been to Poland, but Julie tells me parts of it are like Maine (where I'm from). At the same time, it boasts cities like Krakow, which are genuine Old European gems. And yes, I do enjoy polka music. And I do get a bit teary when I hear the Polish national anthem. POLSKA!

List the things in your life that make you happy.

Wow. My friends, my family. Busties. Writing, making collages or other art. Playing my bass. Being outdoors. Mountains, trees, the sea. Cities. Yoga. Getting mail. Swimming. Cats and dogs and animals in general, especially my family's cats and dog, but also loons and penguins and deer and mooses. A day without panic attacks. Getting a massage. Fruit. Sushi. Magazines. Being silly. Having the funny. Feeling brave. Jon Stewart. Movies. Music. Books. Dancing. Adventure. Rubber chickens.

You are very close to your little brother and admire him a great deal. If you could give him anything, what would it be?

Yes, my little (not so little) brother and I are quite close. He's a fantastic kid in many ways, mature beyond his years, but I wish he weren't quite so tunnel-visioned. He eats breathes sleeps talks lives his saxophone, jazz, that's it, he makes horrid faces at my ceedee collection and won't even try listening to anything else. He won't consider any other life other than "saxophone player." While I'm proud of his talent (even though I hate jazz), I would like to give him - or rather, make him - explore other things. He's so smart, man. He really could do anything at all. And before he fell for the saxophone he was into history, politics, current events... he'd make a great journalist, or historian, or political leader. I want him to realize that there's more to life than jazz. He's a good and dedicated musician, but I'd hate for him to close his mind to all other options when he's only 17. I would also like to give him the ability to be less stubborn and impatient. Hmmm... wonder where he got that from....

A little old lady walks into your theater with a moose in tow, asking what time the 7:15 movie starts. What do you say to her?

That's easy. I explain (calmly, politely), that the 7:15 movie starts at 7:15, but mooses are not allowed in the theater unless they are seeing-eye mooses, and since there is no such thing as a seeing-eye moose, she will have to leave her moose outside. She may prefer to leave the moose in the lobby, at which point I will wind up baby-sitting the moose while she watches the movie. This happened before with a large poodle. The man said "I don't want to leave my poodle Scooter in the car, it's hot, can he come inside," and I thought, oh, tiny little poodle, but no, Scooter was a *standard* poodle, and Scooter did not really like hanging out in the cinema lobby. But he perked up when I fed him popcorn. Dogs love popcorn. Maybe mooses do, too.

Interviewed by Devnullicus

previous next

most recently:

2:41 p.m.
2001-10-05

skypie

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top