latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Mattu -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Hmmm... I was born twenty years ago in Michigan to two amazing parents. I had an older sister named Laura, and three other sisters, Christen, Lisa, and Jenna came along later (I'm the only boy). Then I went to Catholic elementary and high school, and now I'm at a boring community college. The best things in my life are yet to come. Of course, there are lots of other things I left out, but this is supposed to be short, right?

Why did you choose this username?

Two reasons: obviously, my first name is Matt, and my last name begins with a U, so... Mattu. Also, when I was a little kid, the mom of one of my friends called me "Matt U" (pronounced Matt-you). If you say it fast enough, it sounds like Matthew.

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

When I first started my diary, it was just a joke. But then I gradually realized how valuable my diary could be in my development as a writer. Having to write on a regular basis really enhances my ability.

Also, it's instant gratification to know that something I wrote could possibly be read by lots of people. And I live for feedback. My diary has been really fulfilling so far.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I wish I could say that appearances don't make a difference- with people or diaries. But in reality, appearances really do matter.

If I come across a template diary, I think that the person isn't willing to take the time to be unique or interesting. So why would I want to spend my time reading someone like that? It's pretty ironic, considering how long my diary used a template.

I'm actually a happy customer of Beautify's. I was able to find a very nice girl named gypsy who made me a really nice layout. I think it suits my diary well.

I don't think I'll have this layout forever, though. I have some ideas of my own that I want to try out. My whole problem is that I don't know HTML. I'm in the process of teaching myself it.

You are thinking about yourself in 10 years time and present us with some possible case scenarios. How much influence do you think you have in deciding which one you'll end up with?

I think I have a lot of influence over how my life works out. On the other hand, I also believe that fate can rear its ugly head from time to time, and there's nothing you can do about it.

As for my own life, I've been filling out applications to schools in Chicago. It's a dream of mine to live there, so it's a big step for me to live the life I want.

You work in a library. How do you feel about books?

To be honest, I like books better than some of my co-workers. Being surrounded by books is definitely the best thing about my job. I can get any book I want mailed to my work, and I don't have to pay late fees, either. I think I'm going to be something like a writer or an editor later in my life, because I love the written word so much.

What's the stupidest question you've ever been asked? (...and if you say "actually, this one right here, I'll send you to fix some toilets).

Since I hardly ever deal with people directly, I don't get too many strange questions. I think it's funny, though, when someone asks me, "Do you work here?" I feel like saying, "No. I'm just a bum off the street who's lugging around this giant cart of books because those damn bag ladies stole all the really good shopping carts."

If you had to give yourself a witty Freak nickname, what would it be and why?

I'd have to be Neurotic Guy. I have a lot of weird little psychological hang-ups. I'm definitely neurotic.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

2:19 p.m.
2001-10-15

mattu

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top