latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: molzo

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was born and raised in Wadsworth, Ohio. I think, if you totalled it, I may have spent 4 of my 24 years living outside this city. It just so happens 7 months of that was in Honolulu. I have a dad, with whom I stopped speaking in 1998. He's a total ass. I have a mom who has supported me all my life. I have a brother who is 18 months older than me. I have my mom's parents as primary grandparents. I have other grandparents and aunts and uncles.

That being said, my only "true" family in my mind, is my mom and I. Even though my brother lives with us, I don't consider him family.

Umm...I was a cheerleader in high school, I did a semester of college in Hawai'i. I'm Lutheran and very interested and in love with religion. I've had stitches three times, half of my front, right tooth replaced, and never broken a bone. I've never had a serious relationship, only one boyfriend of 6 weeks, and only two kisses, which were on dares. My favorite color is blue, and I have a fat, black cat named Zeus...although, we have a tendency to call him fat ass. I dream of being a professional photographer, owning my own bookstore, having sex, and becoming a Lutheran pastor.

I'm no good at bios, and that was long and full of nothingness.

Why did you choose this username?

My mom dubbed me "molzo" (from the name, Molly) when I was really little.

I hated it!

However, every time I tried to choose a username for the internet, someone had already chosen it. I didn't want to be princess_aurora_1978, so I went with molzo. Turns out, noone else uses it. (And you'd better not start, either!)

Why do you keep a diary online?

I had a nervous breakdown in 1999, and I didn't have anyone I felt comfortable talking to. The goal was to fill my diary with all my craziness, and attempt to have left over my sanity to use in the real world.

It's done a pretty good job. I find that I love my diary, and it's a part of me.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I guess, I can look past the hideous d-land templates, but sooner or later, I give that person a gift of a layout done by me.

I don't like custom designs all gaudy and distracting. I don't like blinky things or moving icons. I don't like a ton of rings.

Other than that, I guess it doesn't matter. Prettiness is nice, but it goes only so far. If there isn't content, I won't keep reading. If there is content, I offer to make them a design.

You don't just keep a personal diary on Diaryland, you also run The Spark and you swear loyalty to your own Band of Brothers (which was started by four girls, so why wasn't it the "Band of Sisters"?). What prompted you to reach out to the general populace of Diaryland? What does this place mean to you?

In the beginning, there was cordeliameg. She inspired me to voice my thoughts. Then, there was unclebob. He made me laugh. I kept in touch with them for the first few months. (Way back before unclebob was so big, if you can believe it!) When I left for a summer job a few months after beginning, I didn't have as much access to the computer. My audience and online relationships dwindled.

When I returned last spring, Andrew was very close to starting Gold Memberships. I wanted to support him and have a place for images, so I bought one. I started a diaryring, because I could. The inspiration was from many conversations with a friend, summer 1999.

After I started the ring, invited my favorites, and gained a bit of popularity, I decided I wanted it to be more than some ugly code. I made a pita, and started the updates. People seemed to like it, and the community has grown enormously...to my surprise.

A little while into my diaryring (thespark, by the way), olei, a member and friend, had the idea for bandofbros. (We both dig Shakespeare, and it's from a quote, that's why it's Brothers and not sisters.) At first, I didn't know where that was going to grow, but it has also gained popularity to my surprise.

My inspiration for my diary was cordeliameg sharing her trial and tribulations with alcoholism and other personal demons. I liked that I wasn't alone in the world of nervous breakdowns and mental illness. I like that there are few boundaries on the internet. A boy doesn't like or dislike you based on your body, he likes you from the inside, out.

It's so hard to make friends and true connections in the real world, so I make them online. These people are true. They've helped me through a lot, so I try to give back in hopes that I can touch someone the same way I was touched.

Tell me what exactly do you mean by saying you're anti-sex?

I used to think it was a sin to have sex before marriage. I had a step-father molest me when I was young. My father did a whole lot in damaging my views on men.

These are the reasons why I never lost my virginity at a young age.

My image of men and sex is still warped by my father and step-father. Sex is dangerous. I think sex is something special.

These are the reasons I continue to abstain.

I think sex is taken too lightly. It's an intimate, personal part of you that shouldn't be given away to anything with a penis or pussy. Plus, there are diseases that everyone cries over but never seems to think about before fucking.

I'm afraid of sex. I want it to be special. I don't like how casually people take it.

Add it all up, and it equals anti-sex!

You have a hard-line attitude to friendship: "You either make time, or you lose me." I always thought true friends were there for you no matter what.

I used to be the big, trusting girl. I'd give you the shirt off my back, and hand you my pants too. I'd give you money, time, love, anything I thought you wanted or needed.

I ended up broke and alone.

Since I went so far out of my way to maintain friendships, my friends did dick in return. They were in college or had jobs and kept telling me they were too busy for me. They treated me like my commitments were unimportant or nonexistent, just because I didn't use them as excuses.

I once had a friend break down the hours in a week, tell me how he filled them, and tell me there were only 3 left over for friends; and all three couldn't be dedicated to me.

That so pissed me off! Now, I'm totally untrusting, and I put in very little effort. Friendship is about loyalty, support, and all that good stuff, but it's also give and take. I am not your friendship credit card to be maxed out at will and never paid off!

If you were an item of clothing, what would you be and why?

My green pants. Comfortable, goes with everything, sexy.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

12:57 p.m.
2002-01-26

molzo

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top