latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: pinkjelly -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was born April 26, 1978, which makes me 23, and a Taurus. blah blah blah, normal suburban childhood - two parents, a younger brother, and two cats. Moved a few times - from Pennsylvania to Arkansas to Texas to Virginia and then back to Texas again. My parents are in Hawaii right now renewing their wedding vows for their 25th anniversary. Kinda sickeningly sweet, huh? I currently reside in Ft. Worth, Texas. I'm a general studies (focus: english/journalism) major at the University of North Texas, and I've been a senior for god only knows how long now. I'm terminally single. I like music. A lot. I go to a lot of concerts. And yes, I fit the cliched stereotype of the typical d-lander - I suffer from depression, and have probably been on every anti-depressant known to man. I could probably start my own black market drug ring with the amounts of leftovers I have. But I'm ok now, and I normally only write about the funny in my journal, so moving along.

Why did you choose this username?

I've been using the name "pinkjelly" as a screenname on bulletin boards for quite some time now. Its origin comes from a hidden track on an early Tripping Daisy album (either "Bill" or "I Am an Elastic Firecracker", I forget at the moment), and it was also the name of one of their websites. Plus, it just sounds neat.

Why do you keep a diary online?

In 1998, I had an internship working with GTE, wherein I built websites. There was a lot of time in the day when I had nothing to do, so I would surf the internet. I came across Puce's journal, and it fascinated me. Plus, I've been journaling on paper ever since I can remember. So I pretty much started my own to waste time at work and to entertain myself, and I've been journaling online ever since. I joined diaryland at the end of '99 just to use when my ftp server was down (but you can't tell because I deleted the old entries after someone I didn't want reading my journal started reading it and was a total ass about the things I had written, but anyhoo.) but then it just got easier to use d-land. So here I am. :)

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think it's somewhat important. I can't stand it when you have to scroll through 5 billion diaryrings and animated gifs and random whatever-else just to get to the journal entry. But at the same time, a person could have an awesome layout, and their writing is pure crap. So content is important too. I like simple sites. Nice, easy to use and read. I think d-land should have a spell-checker (if there's not one already). Good spelling is very important. VERY. I <3 good spelling.

(Like I'm one to speak about "good" content. Most of my entries are about bad pop culture, local bands, and boys. I'm so 14. *sigh*)

As for my journal, it's gone through a lot of different layouts. I still get people e-mailing me asking where my original She-Ra layout went. But! There's a story about my current layout. The original picture I had on my diary was a drawing by moby. The drawing was of a little guy standing all alone under a street light looking up at skyscrapers. I put it up right after the 9/11 stuff went down. It seemed fitting. One of my readers, postwood, decided that the little guy in the drawing looked depressed, so he placed him in a vacation scene, and then sent it to me. I thought it was pretty funny, so I put it on the site.

Tell me about this love/hate thing you have going on with the male gender?

Oh yes, years and years of males driving me insane. It's that whole "can't live with 'em, can't live without 'em" complex. They like you one day, they can't seem to remember your name the next. They're so aggravating and frustrating! But they're also so cute! And they smell good (most of the time)! And they give backrubs. When I was in high school, everyone told me that boys got better as they got older. Maybe I know the wrong boys - because they all pretty much still act like they are 15. And no matter how hard I don't really try, I still don't like girls "that way". So I'm stuck with boys. Or I could just become celibate. But where's the fun in that?

You seem like such a fun loving, gregarious person. Yet, you talk about being alone a lot. Why do you think you have a hard time picking the right man to date?

Ahhhh.the great boy mystery! The day I figure that one out will probably be the day that hell freezes over. Or the day I finally meet a nice, normal guy. Whichever happens first (I'm leaning towards hell freezing over, myself. hehe) I don't know. I'm still trying to figure out why boys WOULDN'T be interested in me. I'm cute, smart, funny, and I have a nice rack, to boot! Yet I've been single for a year and 10 months. Wow, that's depressing to look at. Maybe I need to move to a new town.

I've lived here for 11 years now, I think. As big as the DFW area is, I still can't go somewhere without seeing someone I know. Or that someone else knows. So it's difficult to meet new people. The fact that I'm really shy doesn't help much either. I'm beginning to think there's something in the water here. All of the boys around here (or the ones I know, anyway) are really disinterested in relationships. Or they are already involved with other people. Or they're gay. But they're ALL for sex. Lots and lots of fooling around, no strings attached sex. They all seem to be about the booty call. At their convenience, of course. And that gets old and boring after awhile. And boys seem to be real big on that whole "I have absolutely no interest in you whatsoever, but I will flirt shamelessly with you anyway until you a) let me sleep with you, or b) develop a crush on me, after which I will crush your heart into a million pieces!" thing. So mean!

There are three types of guys who normally hit on me - unattractively drunk musicians, creepy stalker types and skeezy old men. Great. So nice, normal guys in the DFW area, please shoot an email my way. Let me know you exist. Thanks.

Tell me how the events of September 11th have affected you personally?

I work for the government - the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration), actually - so it was a little scary. I was on my way to work when I found out about the first tower being hit. I thought, "oh wow, someone's a bad pilot." I got to work, and was told about the second tower being hit. I think by that time, I was in a state of shock. We were supposed to go to training that morning, and I couldn't even pay attention. Maybe 15 minutes into the training session, the head of my department and came in and told us that the Pentagon had been hit and that we were all to go home. By that time, I was in tears. I was so afraid that someone that was going to come hit our building. Because I'm all cool and melodramatic like that. I went home and watched the news all day. And I was SO mad that they made us come into work the next morning, because I was terrified of having to sit in a federal building all day. Also, since I work in Human Resources, we've been in charge of sending out applications to everyone who is interested in being an air marshall. I sent out hundreds of those damn things.

You are a rock star, which one are you?

Right now, I'd have to say Rivers Cuomo. Because he's a little off his rocker, and a little bit crazy, but so damn cute. Just like me. haha

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

11:24 a.m.
2001-11-02

pinkjelly

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top