latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Plume -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Unlike most people I was born in Denmark on March 15th 1978, a happy and healthy boy with little hair and few ambitions. I don�t remember much of what happened the next years. But I know that my brother was born 2 years later. My parents never got married but then they never split up either. I grew up in the fair city of �rhus by the river. In school I managed to be a geeky intelligent kid and yet also a dumb jock who played soccer every chance he got. My diversity did not include lots of partying and girls unfortunately. That was mostly due to my extreme shyness, which later evolved into a nasty social phobia thing that caused me to drop out of high school. After that I spent my time doing courses, talking to psychologists and psychos and generally trying to avoid life. Now the system is trying to get me back as a contributing member of society. To accomplish this I work in a barn for 4 hours every day.

Why did you choose this username?

Because I absolutely positively love The Smashing Pumpkins and Plume happens to be a very nice song by that very group. "My boredom has outshined the sun". And it sort of fits for a diary name doesn�t it. Plume.. works for me. I didn�t really put much thought into it when I chose it but now it�s like a second name to me. I actually call myself Plume. It�s like a secret identity except it�s not secret at all. Like if Superman decided to just tell everyone that he was also Clark Kent. What was the question again?

Why do you keep a diary online?

No, that�s a whole new question. But all right. Originally I made my first diary (passworded now unfortunately) as an in-joke with someone I knew. I didn�t intent to write in it at all. But just for fun I kept adding stupid entries (that�s the old diary, not Plume. Honestly). And then at some point things kind of went bad between me and this person (you know who you are) and I needed somewhere to write really bitter angry things about it. Since I�m not good at communicating stuff. So that�s how Plume started. And if you go back to the beginning then you�ll see lots of short evil stupid entries. I kept writing those for a while. And then slowly it turned into a "normal" diary. And today I even update daily and write about what I do. I�ve lost my edge, man. But I enjoy it. I like the community of Diaryland. I love that people actually want to read Plume and that they�ll sign my guestbook and everything else. In real life I�m quite lonely and insecure so it�s good to be part of something here. It may be sad, but it�s better than the years I spent completely on my own with no one to talk to but my own thoughts. I�ve met some really cool people on Diaryland and they mean more to me than they probably know. Nowadays whenever something interesting happens the first thing that comes to my mind is "okay, when I write Plume tonight I�m going to say..." or "this would make a great entry". Plume has grown into something very important to me.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

At the end of the day it�s the writing that�s most important. A good layout can catch my interest but if the diary is boring then why bother? Also some layouts are so good and clever and amazing that I just get tired by looking at them. Personally I have a very limited grasp of html and I have no design skills whatsoever. I used the diaryland template for a long long time (come on, it�s not that bad..). And then gradually I sort of changed things. Pulled out the colours so it became black and white. Replaced the diaryland graphics with text links. Basically my diary is still just a template with modifications. But I like it the way it is. Fairly simple and unassuming. Maybe I�ve even started to put too many things on it. As I said, I don�t got no design skills. So I just do what I can and hope that people will still stop by even if it isn�t pretty. And at least I have hidden secrets in a lot of my entries. It�s like a game. You can play Plume with your friends and family.

You talk about dying a lot and one never quite knows whether this is in jest or not. You even wrote a poem about 7 ways to die, albeit, it was really about love. This time, I want you to give me 7 ways to live.

Well, most of the time it�s not in jest. But it�s not like I�m standing on a cliff needing to be saved either. Plume is good for venting. Writing things down instead of doing them. But that�s a difficult question. 7 ways to live. I don�t know. I can only think of one. That�s to just let life happen. I don�t feel strong enough to control it or plan ahead right now. I�m just letting it happen to me and seeing where it goes. Ooh, deep. I�ll let you know if I come up with the 6 others.

What makes your 21-year old brother so evil?

He�s not evil. Imagine I�m the villagers and my brother is Frankenstein�s monster. Now he may seem to be the evil monster. Especially from the villagers� point of view. But really he�s just misunderstood and the true monster is the the villagers/me. Or something. It�s all from my selfish point of view. When he was younger my brother had a speech impediment and was somewhat "slow". I�m not sure what the medical condition is. But because of that he got a lot of help and attention, specifically by our parents. I grew up in his shadow. Feeling guilty. Jealous. Sad that we couldn�t be close like brothers are supposed to. He�s a good kid, he�s come a long way. I just wish that somebody had spotted my problems earlier on and tried to help me. I still feel vastly unimportant when he comes home some weekends. From his point of view I�m certainly the evil one. We�ve always fought a lot. He gets frustrated so easily and I find it hard to always be the "bigger and wiser" brother. I�ve done things I regret.. and we�ll probably never be that close. It�s sad really.

What is the best thing about snow?

Funny you should ask that. We just had winter�s first snow here today. It would be easier to say what�s bad about snow. Nothing. I adore snow. Everything about it. Even the cold. The blistering cold. I think the best thing is the way it transforms everything. I don�t live in a total concrete jungle but it�s a fairly boring place. When it�s been snowing everything is just so pretty and calm. Like a whole new world. A fairy tale world. And who doesn�t like to pretend he�s Han Solo lost on Hoth? Be honest. I know you do. Now where�s my Taun-Taun?

If you were a Danish Pastry, what kind would you be?

Nice one. I guess I would like to be a giant steel one. And then I�d show those pesky humans how it is to be eaten alive. Because honestly I think pastry deserves more respect. Calling them danishes is a step in the right direction. But let�s not be murderers. Free Pastry For A Free World. Amen.

And that concludes this interview. I�ll let you know if you get the job.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

9:59 p.m.
2001-11-08

Plume

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top