latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Easy Alchemy

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

My name is Candace, I'm 24, female, a student of Classical History at Trent University, and an indie filmmaker (just released our first feature-length). I was at theatre school for a while, I know how to eat fire, I worked for a summer as a tarot-card reader, and once I won a competition which meant I had to wear a sash for a year and wave at people. I like being Canadian.

Why did you choose this username?

Alchemy is the art/science of turning lead into gold. In many ways, it's the art of attempting, in the most difficult way possible, to achieve the impossible. It's so futile that I find it absolutely charming, though I think that was lost on most of your Renaissance Alchemists. The spiritual implications are neat, too; the idea of changing from base mortal material to something spiritual and divine is one which appeals to me. And the idea of knowing something is impossible but trying it anyway appeals to me. I like a challenge. And the 'easy' is irony. So I attempt, through my online journal and the self-reflection, to achieve some sort of transformation of myself, though it may be impossible. As some smart guy said once, "The unexamined life is not worth living."

Why do you keep a diary online?

It began as an attempt to keep my neglected friends up-to-date with what was going on with my life, but quickly progressed into my own public confessional (or something). Though I write constantly, it usually gets put down into the little book I carry with me and never goes any farther. What I was craving was reciprocity, and the online journal brings that to me; even if it's just numbers spinning on a counter, I know that someone out there is reading and responding to what I'm writing. I've even received email from people, some whom I know and some strangers, and the interaction has been interesting and really gratifying. My RL friends read my journal, which raises some issues around naming names and self-censorship, but it's made me a much better writer.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I've jokingly referred to my journal as 'text-based' for the entire time I've used it. My layout has always been poor; though I do know the basics of html and can generally work my way around a dummy editor, I never get around to doing anything about it. I like pretty layouts, but efficient beats them; and I'm not going to stick around to read a diary which takes too long to download or is too visually nauseating. Currently I'm using a form; and though there's nothing exciting about it, it is both easy to read and to use, so I'm satisfied. Eventually I'll have a good-looking layout.

You share in your diary you are cynical. Why do you think that is? What made you become cynical?

Perhaps cynical is the wrong word; but what I mean is that I'm always looking at the reasons behind things, trying to figure out the background. I don't have a lot of faith in simplicity, and I'm hyper-critical. I have hope, and a belief that things (people, art, the world) can change for the better, but I'm also intelligent enough not to expect them to; which, I suppose, makes me cynical. I grew up as a bookish child in a small village, and I think that's the seed of my cynicism.

How did the events of September 11th, affect you?

I saw the towers crash on TV, and I cried. I have great sympathy for the people whose families and friends died in the tragedy. At the same time, I'm terrified by the attack on civil liberites which has taken place both in Canada and the U.S.A. I detest any government that calls itself a democracy and then suspends the rights of its citizens. And I have to admit that, given the U.S.A.'s foreign policy, it was just a matter of time before something like this happened. The events of Sept. 11 have affected me because they have given my government the opportunity to put in place legislation which does not make the world safer but does restrict my freedom.

What is your view regarding the Death Penalty?

The death penalty is a violent act, which, in effect, makes the government and law system into murderers. It has not been shown to reduce crime. It costs more money, through appeals, than regular jail time. And I believe that violence begets violence; so if the state commits a violent act, then it is encouraging the use of violence to solve problems. The death penalty is a barbaric punishment which hurts everyone and helps no one.

Here at Interview, we always ask one silly question -- here's yours...If you could be any fragrance what one would you be and why?

I would be Amber, because it's an exotic, spicy scent which changes hugely as you wear it, and as it reacts to your own natural scent. It's somehow elusive and mysterious. I like that. Or maybe Bergamot, because it's a scent that is added to many men's colognes... I love nestling up to a man who smells very subtlely of Bergamot.

Thanks very much for the interview, Trin!

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

12:38 p.m.
2002-01-21

easyalchemy

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top