latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Angelicagirl

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I always wonder about these questions. A short bio ? Isn't that an oxymoron ?

I was born December 12, 1985. I'm 15. I'm Canadian. I'm a senior in high school. I stink at math. I have 4 siblings.

I love to read and write, but I hate science. Math, physics, chem, it's all the same to me: useless. I want to be a journalist. I want to travel and learn new things through experience. I hate sitting in class.

I hate spiders. My favorite color is blue. I listen to a lot of music, mostly New Found Glory and Blink-182, and anything in that general category. I'm 5'11'', brown hair, green eyes. I'm a very self-conscious person, as much as I hate to admit it.

I'm opinionated. Loud. Blatant. Arrogant, when needed. But I can be nice. Thoughtful. Caring ... As long as you catch me on a good day.

Why did you choose this username?

This is a long story. Here goes: In January of 2001, I started a rant site after an argument with a friend. We were talking, and she wouldn't hear me out, so out of complete rage, I felt the need to find a place to put up my rants. I decided to sign up with homestead, and I selected "angelicagirl" because I really like that little feisty girl on Rugrats. Besides, "angelica" was already taken.

I guess it just stuck, and when I signed up for a diary, I was so used to that nickname that it stuck.

Why do you keep a diary online?

My reasons have changed since the beginning. When I started, I just wanted a place to bitch and whine, but I needed something that was easier to use than homestead. After that, for a while, it was just an outlet for me to pour my depression into. Then it turned into a race for hits. Now, I just write for the fun of it. I'm a born entertainer. I like to make people think. (Dare I say laugh ?) It makes me happy.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think that having a layout is very important. It sounds mean, but when I come across a diary with a template, or pink text on a red background and a Christina Aguilera midi playing, I run. The writing may be good, beautiful even, but crowding your space with all sorts of junk will hide that. There are a ton of people who do layouts; me, for example ! It's understandable that not everyone can do their own HTML, but getting it done for you is so easy. I admit to being guilty of having used a template at one time, but I absolutely love the way my diary looks now. Fall is the best season !

What is your definition of a perfect person?

(For the sake of the question, I will answer using "she", but there are perfect guys too !) The perfect person ... Is real. Never has to fake it. Says what she thinks, believes what she wants to believe, does what she wants to do. A perfect person knows how to be caring, passionate, dedicated, motivated, without ever losing themselves in the midst of the world around them.

My definition of a perfect guy differs. I'm too media-influenced when it comes to this: I watch shows filled with corny romance and think, "aww ! That guy is so perfect." I crack open a magazine and see pictures of hot guys and think, "damn. That guy is SO perfect." What I look for in a guy is a hopeless romantic like me ... Of course, looks don't hurt ! But that's not what makes a perfect person. Stick-thin is not perfection. It's just a vain attempt.

We're all perfect in our own way. Nobody's the best at everything, you just have to find what you're good at and stick with it. Determination makes a person beautiful ...

I see in your diary you are an avid babysitter! Tell me what is about children that you find so fascinating?

It's amazing how intelligent children are. I have learned so much from two little boys I used to take care of; about love, about death, about friendship. You don't need a fancy professor to show you the real meaning of things. All you need is a kid.

They fascinate me because it shows how much I've grown. They're innocent and pure and untouched by hatred and prejudice. Everything I wish I still was. Growing up scares me ! I feel like I'm losing all the philosophies I had. It's as if I was forgetting what really matters. There's more to life than lipstick and crushes; at the same time, life isn't all about analyzing death and rejection. Talking to the children I babysit has helped me find a happy medium.

You have shared with me that it irritates you to no end when someone gives you a hard time about being fifteen years old, and not taken seriously. Here is your chance to tell us how that makes you feel, and why we should take you seriously :)

People stereotype teenagers today. My theory about this is that this fear of teenagers spawns from television. Yes ! See ... You turn on the news and hear about teenagers shooting up school, robbing banks, committing suicide. But do you ever hear about the "good" kids, who don't do any of this stuff ? Who read the newspaper ? Who have something to say ? No. But there are a lot of us.

I understand that my problems sound mundane to older people who have to deal with bills and work. But think about it. I can't *be* any older than I am. I'm 15, not 25. When I'll be 25, I'll worry about how to pay for electricity. But now, let me deal with failing math and understanding those damn confusing guys ! Alright ? Alright.

All I'm saying is that people shouldn't look down on me because I sound childish. I am childish. But why force myself to be any different ? I have time to grow up.

Quick! The cutest boy you have ever seen has just walked up to you, and smiled at you. What do you do???

Come on now, you don't have to mock my complete lack of skill around guys. It's weird how I can be insane around my friends, and totally quiet around guys. People say I'm quite a character ... I think that's true. But I never manage to say a word when I'm around guys I like. Which is what makes this whole thing with Walt weird. He *did* walk up to me and smile, but instead of ducking for cover, I went with it. I guess it's because I wasn't around anyone I knew, and it made it easier to be different.

To answer your question, it all depends. Is this a guy I know ? I crush-boy smiled at me, and I wish he did, I'd smile back, if I was talking to someone. If I was alone, I'd smile, maybe say hello. If it was a guy I didn't know, I'd just smile back, but do nothing.

Oh, who am I kidding ? I'm a suckass. I wouldn't do anything.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

10:19 a.m.
2001-10-19

angelicagirl

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top