latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Ajax -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Instead of a play-by-play, I'll give ya random trivia:

I'm a 20-year old college girl and secretary-type in a terrible southwestern town. I'm a music snob, an extreme leftist, a malcontent, a pessimist, an idealist. When I get drink, which is not too often, I have a long history of dancing in public, thus continually making a fool of myself. I sing along to the terrible music they play in the grocery store. My dad went to a Nirvana concert and refused to bring me along, saying that I was too young. Though I've thinned out and got contacts, I was the bookworm fat girl with coke bottle glasses in elementary school.

Why did you choose this username?

Ah. The mystery, the intrigue.

Favorite Greek myth? Favorite cleaning product? You decide. I really don't know. It was short, sweet, strong, gender-ambiguous. It has a hypnotic ring to it. You know.

Why do you keep a diary online?

As my grandma would say, it keeps me off the streets.

I'd say, "To entertain, inform, educate," but that would be a big, fat, pretentious lie. Like I said in my first entry, my true motivation was just to write again, write in any form, and hopefully I'd start dutifully keeping a paper journal. The online thing... it's so very addictive. And the feedback, that I know people read about my daily life... it's like crack.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think it's fairly important... but it's of the utmost to remember that a fabulous layout does not good diary make. As far as my layout, I found an ancient book on html; one insomnia-driven night, I decided to get with the times and teach myself. I used different snippets of Russian and German propaganda for my toolbar, and experimented with different colors... I've tried not to get too caught up in the design rather than the content. I just hope it is readable, really, and if people think it's pretty, all the better. It's mostly hand-coded, so don't blame me if it's terrible.

How important do you feel historical events are?

In a broad sense, historical events are extremely important. Especially times of crisis. People seem to let go of their parlor politics and either go with their gut or go with what they've been told all along--it's interesting (and often terrifying) to see who people really are, in this sense. It promotes change. We can look back to past events, and if we can remain critical of who tells the tale, we can really learn a lot about our current situation. How's that for a vague, eager-to-please answer?

What horrifies you?

Violence, in most forms. American cheese. This French movie, Fat Girl, that I saw when I was in NYC. Mullets, especially children with mullets. When people really enjoy bad music, and not just for the camp or the irony or the shock value. Spiders. Pictures of Holocaust victims. Politics that are radically misinformed, or political hypocrisy (especially concerning the first amendment). When people use the phrase, "Sh*ts and giggles."

You say you can't go home again? Why do you feel that way?

I mean that in the Thomas Wolfe sense, of course--I still will go back to visit my family and stuff. It's just not my town anymore. I live an hour away from where I grew up, but I feel like I've moved to a different country in a different century; I feel like a completely different person. Most of the places I loved, most of the friends I loved are no longer there. My family is different, too. Also, I see that my home town is being homogenized by trying to cater to tourism, and at the same time it's being taken over by the same damn corporate stores as every other American locale. All of this makes me unspeakably sad. I feel like a crotchety old woman when I say these things. Forgive me.

If Calgon could take you away, where would you want to go?

Right now, I'd like to be in a TriBeCa loft writing novels. Yes, that's as pretentious as it sounds. In general, I'd like to be taken away to a world where I'll never have to take college algebra, where the bathtubs are bigger than swimming pools, where fluorescent lights no longer exist, where I'm both universally loved and universally loving, where I have a wonderful singing voice, where the night time is a beautiful blue color, where someone is always brushing my hair and feeding me grapes, where I'll never have to file or write another memo, where no one has to worry about money. I'd settle for the no-college-algebra thing, though.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

10:20 a.m.
2001-10-19

ajax

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top