latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: angeline-is -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Well, I'm Angeline. I was born February 10th, 1977 at St. Patrick's Hospital in Lake Charles, Louisiana. I announced my intentions of coming into the world by kicking so hard that the cat sitting on my mom's stomach went flying. As the product of a military family, I find myself with wandering feet more than your average young adult, so I move. Quite a bit. In the last five years I've lived in three different states. I love winter weather, reading, hanging out in coffeehouses, singing, swimming.... well, I like a LOT of things. I'm your basic eclectic bohemian itinerant. Oh, and I am longwinded, which you'll find as you read this. Hee!

Why did you choose this username? Why did you change usernames?

When I first came to Diaryland, I wanted to be Belle--Belle is short for Isabelle, which is a Quebecois variation on my real name that I happen to love. Belle wasn't available at first, so I made it Waterbelle simply because I like swimming. I did finally get Belle, thanks to Andrew, and I was there for a while. But eventually, being at Belle got too depressing--too many bad memories and whining and crying was documented there. I wanted a fresh start, and at that time I was about to move back to Texas. So I got Angeline-Is. The title is from a song by the Badlees called "Angeline Is Coming Home," that I found strangely appropriate, especially given that it had right about then just started popping up around me for no reason (the final straw was when I went to a used CD store, and started browsing the singles, which I never do. Next thing I know the CD single for this one hit wonder song pops up in front of me. Naturally, I bought it, it was like a sign of some sort) Angeline wasn't an available name, so I went for the next best thing.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I'm not entirely sure, really. I first learned of Diaryland through a weblog I read from time to time--Bite This, by Silver. She's a web designer I've followed for years. Her sister had a Diaryland diary, and it suddenly seemed like something fun to do. Diaryland was the first journaling site I ever came across--I signed up that day.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think layout's pretty important, if you're creating a diary you want people to read. If you're not just doing it for yourself, then obviously you want a pleasing environment for other people to come to. I've noticed that people tend to come back a bit more often to diaries with custom layouts--it shows you care enough to present your words in a nice-looking format, sort of like a report you want really good grades on. *laughs* My layout fell together pretty quickly the afternoon I decided to make the Angeline diary. I grabbed some of my webcam stills and hopped to in Photoshop, and came up with what you see. I tend to make layouts simple, one primary image being the focus and then text links instead of buttons. It makes things pretty quick to load, and still expresses my personality, I think. Even when I am doing custom layouts for others, I stick to that same basic formula, I think it's a signature for me now.

How has your bulimia and depression affected your writing? Do you think you will ever be truly "cured" from these diseases?

I can always tell (days after I write entries) when these issues affect my writing. If I'm feeling depressed or panicky about food, it shows big time, in that the entry is either a real downer or totally focused on food issues. The food thing has sort of finally gone into the background--I haven't seen much of those issues since my Waterbelle days, which is all to the good as far as I am concerned. The flip side is my depression is all upfront again. Thankfully I think I've only written one really depressed entry since I came to Angeline--Belle is FULL of them, especially the last three months. I'm trying not to bore people to death with my problems, but really, that's what a diary is for, right? So they go in anyway.

As far as being cured.... well. I'm sure one day I can get the help I now need for my depression, and it'll be better. And since I just up and lost 36 pounds without even knowing I was doing it, my food issues have really receded. But I still get extremely depressed, and sometimes I still freak out after eating something on my mental list of "bad things." The best things I suppose I can say is that I don't binge and purge anymore, and haven't in a few years, and I can always pull out of my depressive states. Cured probably isn't on the agenda, but functioning almost normally certainly is.

You founded the now-famous OddGoogle. What inspired that diary? What are your feelings on it now?

*laughs* It's funny to see that thing referred to as famous, but I guess it is in a way; we've gotten media attention and all, which I find amusing. Because really, I didn't start it because I wanted to get big and famous!

My brother and I were sharing an apartment at the time, and I have to give him credit for helping me come up with the idea. We would go through our sitemeters and see all of these weird search hits in there; furthermore a lot of Diarylanders at the time were posting individual hits and stats on their diaries, but generally that was to expose and mock perverts. Christmas of 2000, we were in the apartment and we had this back and forth conversation..."Wouldn't it be cool if we started a site..." "That listed all of these weird search hits...." "Sort of like Quoted, in a way...." "Yeah...it would something to laugh at...." And it went on from there. My family tends to do things because they're FUN to do...the fame thing is a side benefit I never expected. I have to give shout outs to my first big OddGooglers, Methybeth and Skeezix. They were one heck of an impromptu PR department; they took the OddGoogle bit and ran with it. God Bless 'Em.

I still love OddGoogle, but I admit after a while it gets sort of tedious to update, which is why I hired on two assistants, TigreFatalis and Gaja. You just start running out of snarky commentary, but snarky commentary is my favorite feature! So you need fresh people to give fresh snarky commentary. Reading over early OddGoogles, I realize it's just ten times better with snarky commentary.

Pasta brings up memories of your grandparents. What other things do you connect to your family? To you?

Um, let's see. Music. We all share a lot of the same tastes in music, and most of us play instruments or sing or had something to do with hour high school band. We all went to the same small high school, so that's a connection, too--a lot of my teachers either taught my mom and aunts and uncles, or went to school with them. We all like to cook to some extent, we like a lot of the same movies, we're all packrats.... in all, we're a pretty connected family, even though we don't live in the same regions of the country most of the time.

It seems like all of Diaryland has some Kevin Smith Love. As founder of the Diaryland Loves Kevin Smith WebClique, why do you love Kevin Smith?

Because he's just FUNNY. I'm one of those people who have a fairly lowbrow sense of humor, so I find all of his movies immensely amusing. Mallrats has always made me fall on the floor just dying with laughter. I love intensely funny movies with a passion, and these even more I think because these characters are people I identify with--they're weird, warped, perpetual teenage outsiders, they're movies with characters I would totally hang out with. I think that's the most appealing thing of all.

Interviewed by Brandi

previous next

most recently:

11:44 a.m.
2002-10-10

angeline-is

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top