latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: word-of-day -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I am a 16 year old guy named Steve. I live in a somewhat small town called Haddon Township in New Jersey. It's about 4 miles from Philadelphia on the other side of the Delaware. I'm a junior in high school which I also play soccer and run track at. I am also a Boy Scout. As of right now I'm a life scout, but I have done everything hard to get eagle and now just have to write some stuff. Which is not my best thing. Maybe if I had a job this bio would be easier.

Why did you choose this username?

Oh nice, I actually have a entry where I did this. It all starts in 4th grade. I get sick and go to the hospital and it turns out I have to get my appendix out. This keeps me out of school for about 10 school days. During this time, my class mates decide to make a person out of dictionaries in my seat and pretend it was me. When I come to school, I find about 10 dictionaries piled up in my seat and desk and they tell me about them pretending it was me. So when I was thinking of a name to come up with, that came to my head and I figured it should have to do with dictionaries, and then word of the day came to my head. Except, Wordoftheday.diaryland.com was already taken, and that is the most number of letters that are allowed to use. I decided to take of the word "the" and just separate the words like they are now.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I started this diary because all of my friends have one. And when I mean all my friends I mean that, I think there are about 40 kids from my town with a diaryland diary. But, now I feel that I have to update in it because it let's me see how I changed, and I wouldn't be able to keep on paper because my hand writing is some of the worse I've ever seen.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Can you also comment on your layout?

Depends, I think a layout is important if you want others to read it. I find that even if they have great writing, but are using a diaryland template I won't read more then two or three entries before the layout gets to me. But, also just because people have good layouts doesn't mean their diary will be good. And then there are those people that clutter their layouts with all those rings and everything. I despise those layouts. My Layout was done by Loser-kid, who is also a friend of mine in real life. I like it because it reflects my diary which is why I've kept it for over a year.

At the beginning, you simply wrote a word and its definition, and later started writing entries. What gave you the idea for this diary? Do the words you put at the top of each entry have any significance on the entry below?

Well, the idea for this diary is kind of the same reason I named it what I did, But it had to do with the dictionary being me, and well, I wanted something original when I made mine. And a year after I started, it still is. But at the beginning I wasn't sure If I wanted to tell people I never meet about myself, but that passed quickly. Very rarely is that word of the day I use have any significance in what I write about. A few times I did that, but I mostly like to find words that have weird definitions or just words I like to say.

You write a lot about your day and what happened, how it went, and how you feel about it, but always using minimal words. You got angry with your friend Colin when he commented on your way with words. Explain to us why you got angry, and why you write how you do.

This happened awhile ago and since Colin has since closed his diary I'm not sure exactly what he said. But I remember that is was about how people write in their diary about their day or not have the diary interesting enough. I wasn't really mad at him when I wrote the entry, I just got some inspiration from his entry and decided to write something about it. Colin actually told me he liked the entry because I wrote my feelings. But we are still friends, after all I use his webpage to host my images for my diary.

You tell us a story of Halloween, and also of Valentine's Day. Your opinions of the two are very different. Do you think that it all depends on how old you are, or otherwise your current situation that lets you enjoy or not, these and other public holidays/festivals?

I have never enjoyed Valentine's Day because I've never had a girlfriend and then all my friends go out with their boyfriends or girlfriends. I still don't see a point in that day, Why can't people give roses and candy on any old day, do we need a certain day to do that? But I do love halloween because there's free candy and I don't need to have a girlfriend to go out with people. But I also enjoy other holidays and hate some, while I have mix feelings of others. Like Christmas, where my friends have the present exchange things and don't tell me about it so when I go to the house with them I am left out. Maybe it's not the holidays I hate, it's just how people have to make them so big.

Here's your fun question. Feel free to answer as silly as you wish. :-) How has devil duckie improved your life since you acquired him?

I now wish that I had gotten the version that actually is like a rubber duck instead of the key chain size. But I use to take it to school, because it's a freaking devil duck. But now it's sitting on top of my computer. Every once in awhile I look up at it and laugh. If I ever get a job at a computer, that's coming with me.

Interviewed by Nicola

previous next

most recently:

10:41 a.m.
2002-09-28

word of day

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top