latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: bobbipuzel -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

A short bio ey? Well, I am not one for shortening things, but I will try. I tend to ramble so I hope I can make this as short as possible.

My name is Bobbi Jo Roush. I am a 20 year old female (some are confused because Bobbi and Jo are both guy names *BLEH*). I was born and raised in a small town in southeastern Ohio, U.S.A. I lived in Ohio for a full 19 years of my life, up until recently. Now, I am between Cheshire and my new found home, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

I can explain why I am between both places right now. I have a Dutch fiance that lives in Holland. After three years of a long distance relationship and many visits back and forth between two countries (for both of us), we thought it was time to move in together. So, we found an apartment in Amsterdam. I love my new home there, but feel I have to come back to Ohio to visit with my family and friends every few months. So, basically I spend a few months there, living, then visiting Ohio for a month to two months and so on and so forth. It is very confusing and I hope to settle in one place or another and only visit the other place on holidays or maybe in the summer for a couple to a few weeks. Phew...

Ok what else could I put in a "short" bio of me. Well, I am not working, nor going to school yet. I have only attended one quarter of college. I loved it and will go back. I just chose my relationship with my fiance and the love of travel over continuing college. I plan on going back as soon as either my fiance moves to the U.S. or I finish Dutch lessons (after I start in January) and pass the required test to get into a University there.

Like I said, I have no job. My fiance and father still support me. I am somewhat of a spoilt brat and I have to learn to get away from that and face the real world eventually. In good time though, as I say.

This isn't short is it? I am rambling. Oh dear, this is not good. I have yet to say everything I wanted to say about myself, but perhaps, I should spare you the details and leave this as short as I think I can make it. :o)

Why did you choose this username?

I chose this username because it sounded neat and it is also a combination of a couple of things. My website is caterpuzel.com and my first name is Bobbi. So, I just sorda combined the two and came up with bobbipuzel. I wanted my journal to be different from the other names I use online and I wanted something that nobody else had and sounded interesting. So, it became bobbipuzel.

Why do you keep a diary online?

You know, this is a harder question to answer than I had thought it would be. Oh my... Well, I keep an online diary for several reasons:

1. Because my hand can't keep up with the fast thoughts that my mind throws out when I write in a paper diary. So, typing in an online diary is so much faster and I don't forget what I was going to write as much.

2. It is easy for me to access wherever I go. I don't have to worry about packing a paper diary with me wherever I go. I tend to go a lot of places and travel around loads. It is just easier to log onto an diary online than worry about keeping track of a real diary. Diaryland is always here and the internet is everywhere.

3. I am very strongly opinionated and some people don't like to hear my opinions and I don't often have the opportunity with the people I talk to to state these opinions. So, I figured that an online diary can't argue back and would listen to all my opinions.

4. I also tend to forget all the things I need to do. So, talking about them in my diary helps me collect my thoughts and keep everything in tact.

I didn't start the diary for any real reason. A friend introduced me to Diaryland. I figured I could give it a whirl. I got addicted and found it very theraputic to my soul and met loads of great people. I am glad I did get involved with Diaryland. It has been wonderful.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I don't think that a layout is that important for a diary. I think that if you can spice up your diary with a nice layout that is easy on the eyes and not cluttered with a bunch of stuff that takes forever to load, then that is a plus. I just don't think that what your words are put on really matters. The writing is the same no matter what sort of layout you have.

After going from two or three simple layouts I have settled for my current layout that is still pretty simple. I love the pictures that you can find on explodingdog.com. They always make me laugh. I also love houseplants and found the graphic that is on my current layout and just loved it. So, I decided to take it with it's earthy tones and make a nice but simple layout with it. I like graphics, but don't like to clutter up the page too much. I figured with a nice text box, some nice colors and one graphic it would look arlight. So, that is just how I came about my layout. I think it is alright, but I would hope that people would focus more on my writing than my layout, like I tend to do with other's diaries.

I was reading your September 11th entry. Can you share with us your feelings about war?

Well, war is not a good thing in my opinion. I hate the thought of war. I know that in some situations it really cannot be helped. I think that there will always be war. I don't like the thought of going to war and more people dying. I don't think that innocent civilians or soldiers on either side being killed justifies what even caused the war to start with. I think that there can be other measures taken to solve problems instead of whipping out guns and blowing people away. It is a scary situation that brings so much death, sadness and destruction to the world. I feel that the word war means so much. I guess the one big word that comes to mind when I hear war is POWER. I think that there are too many people after that and they think the only way to prove it is by war and all the things that go along with it. It is a scary thing that I would just as well rid the world of.

I have never been to Amsterdam, and I am betting that a lot of our readers haven't either, an you share with us what Amsterdam's like?

Sure I would love to. If you ever get a chance to come to Amsterdam you should! It is a wonderful place with loads of things to do.

Before I ever came to Amsterdam I had always heard of things like the Red Light District with it's legal prostitution and the half naked women in the windows, the legal use of pot and other soft drugs and things like that.

Amsterdam does have both of those things, but also has so much more. It is a very crowded city, like the rest of Holland. There are just loads of people in a small amount of space.

Amsterdam has loads of pigeons to feed, street preformers, trams, people on bikes, canals, boats, old buildings, museums, snack bars, small shops, buses, tourists, taxis, clubs, bars, flower shops, bridges, parks, house boats etc.

Among the touristical things to do there are loads of museums like the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmusem and even sex museums. There is a zoo, Artis, that is over a hundred years old. You can go to the Anne Frank House, the flower market, take a canal cruise or a bike tour, the Red Light District, loads of nice places to shop and much more.

Amsterdam is not a noisy city compaired to places like New York, London or Paris. It is a city full of history. It is less comercialized and business like (no tall sky scrapers or anything) than most big cities. It has it's own unique style. It is really unlike any other.

The Dutch people that live in Amsterdam tend to mind their own business and go about their lives. They will stop and help you if you ask and tend not to pay much attention to the many tourists that inhabit the city. They are very nice people that work hard and like to have fun.

Who's Pieter?

Oh Pieter is my fiance. We have been together for three and a half years. We have only been engaged for about a monththough. We will be getting married in two years.

Pieter is Dutch, he was born and raised in Holland. We met on the internet through a friend over four years ago. We talked on icq and on the phone for a few months and eventually fell in love.

After three years of him coming to see me in the U.S. and me going to Holland we finally got an apartment in Amsterdam and I moved there.

He is a good guy, for the record :o).

Interview always asks one wacky question -- You are in Disney World, which princess are you and why? Snow White, Cinderella, or Sleeping Beauty?

Ohhh I am so glad you asked this question. I could not have came up with a better one myself. Thank you!

Anyway, I loved all those princesses but I guess I would have to be Cinderella. Why? Well, since I was little that has been one of my all time favorite stories. The story has always apealed to me. I have always wanted to have what she had in the end of the story. I have always wanted that fairytale wedding and have the prince come rescue me. I was always amazed by how she dreamed and she got what she dreamed for. In the end nobody could take any of that away from her. That sort of life that she found in the end always appealed to me.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

5:08 p.m.
2002-01-01

bobbipuzel

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top