latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: cosmicrayola -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I am 6th in a family of 7. My mom was married 3 times. She was an alcoholic by the time I was 3 and remarried when I was 7. She had my sister when I was 8. I became caretaker. My Dad, who was number 2 disappeared from the scene when I was 7. My mother died when I was 26. I miss her every day. Life goes on. I got married at 15. (not pregnant) and have had a good life, all told. I divorced years ago. 6 years ago met my soulmate. Married 4 years now. I have two grown kids and 5 grandchildren and a great job. 48 and going strong. Erma Bombeck is my Heroine, Martha Stewart sucks.

Why did you choose this username?

Off the top of my head. That is how most things come to me. Cosmic, because I am one with the universe and crayola because I am told I am colorful. Bull. Couldn't think of anything else when the damn screen told me to come up with a username.

Why do you keep a diary online?

When my sister Stella was 17 and I was 12, I uses to ghostwrite poetry for her to pawn off as her own to her boyfriends. I guess the feelings of being foreshadowed got to me. I want people to read ME! I think a lot of people on D'land have a bit of exhibitionist tendencies anyway.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think layout is the first thing you notice. If it is plain, you read. If it is too busy, you can get confused and don't bother to ever stay long enough to realize the talent. Mine? Now mine is pretty simple. I used templates and celerysticks (great layouts!) but decided to try it on my own. So far, I have only managed tables. Tables are good.

You run a children's ID card web site. What gave you the idea for that?

I have in Westerly, 3 beautiful grandaughters. If anything were to happen to them, I would cease to live. I want every parent to get these cards! They don't have to buy them from me, but get them somewhere. The first hour or two are the most importand in recovering an abducted child. Anyone taking care of children shoud have one of these for every child on hand to give the police. And thank you for asking. This is very important to me.

You have had to deal with violence and alcoholism. What is your best personal coping mechanism? Do you have any advice for people living with these issues in their lives?

My coping was through comedy. Kids hear their parents talk. They knew. I would walk into a room and crack a joke. I would bust them up laughing. I realized very young that if you make them laugh you would never know if they were laughing at you or at your joke. It hurt less that way. As far as advice, know that it isn't your fault. You can't change them, you can't help them and you can't cure them. All your help - won't help. They need to fix themselves and they won't do it until they can. If you try to help, you can actually hold their progess up. "Co-dependence No More" is a great book. Know that you are probably very loved by them but they don't possess the tools to let you know that. And most importantly, don't blame your problems on them. You're an adult now, get over it.

If stupidity could get you arrested, who would be the first three candidates and why?

Wow, Ginger, that's a tough one. I hate putting anyone down. (I'll get over it.)
1. Bill Clinton. He is really ticking me off. He is sooo stupid, (how stupid is he?) He is so stupid that he thinks after all that BS he fed us that we are still listening to him!
2.Osama Bin Laden. He is so stupid that he doesn't realize that the way for him to reach Paradise is to come out of hidnig and let the U.S. shoot his sorry butt in the name of his religious beliefs! Oh well, I guess he doesn't really want to make it to the great beyond.
3. PeeWee Herman. Though I have no problem with people masturbating (Seinfield even OK'd it) to do it in public and lose your career is on the "Top 10 List of the Year 20th Century Stupid Moves"

You're a tree stump. What kind of hidden treasure has someone stashed at your roots?

Boy, this is tougher than I thought. At my roots, huh? I think my roots gave me honesty, integrity, compassion and empathy. My mom was my most generous benefactor. They also gave me humor, wit and the ability to laugh at myself. Thank you. This has been fun.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

11:19 a.m.
2001-11-10

cosmicrayola

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top