latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: project2501 -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was born some 23 years ago in Daytona Beach, Florida. Growing up in Daytona and Orlando, the beach was a second home to be, and visits to Disney World were as common as trips to the grocery store. I was an only child, living with both parents and surrounded by family. I drove a pedal-powered Jaguar. Mine was a charmed childhood. It could only get worse from there. HA! (sigh) Now I live in the near west suburbs of Chicago, where I work part-time in an animal hospital. I'm a thoroughally warped human being, having spent much of my life battling depression, debilitating shyness, and a weight problem. I've been working hard since high school to try and transform my dark'n'scary brand of weirdness into something resembling charming'n'loveable eccentricity, which is really a lot more fun. I collect toys, airguns, mp3s and dust. I like to stargaze and listen for radio signals from other worlds on my walkman. I don't smoke or drink, but I drive too fast and piss away grocery money on Legos.

Why did you choose this username?

Project2501 was the codename for the sentient computer which was the antagonist in the anime film Ghost in the Shell. No special meaning for me personally, it just seemed like a neat name for an internet diary. Cermo, the name I go by on Diaryland, was the name of a character in the Galactic Center novels by Gregory Benford. Steadfast, reliable, a mighty warrior...and proud of the fact that in a future where humanity is constantly on the run from a relentless mechanical threat and food and supplies are scarce, he still manages to have a pot belly.

Why do you keep a diary online?

My friend and then-girlfriend, the infamous Miss Mari, introduced me to diaryland. I immediately jumped on it, because I just dug the idea of having a place to publicly and anonymously bitch about stuff. (I managed to keep it secret for about a month) That's all I intended to do when I started my diary...use it to blow off steam and spit venom when I was in a bad mood. And sometimes I do just that, but these days it mostly serves as a distraction. Instead of going out and facing the real world, I come here and try to be funny. Healthy, huh?

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Even from a reader standpoint, a layout is still a distant second to content. Many of the diaries I read on a regular basis don't have fancy custom layouts, I don't read them because they're pretty. But if the diary owner is so inclined, it certainly adds something. It can make it more fun, and offer another way for the diarist to express themselves. I've gone through a half-dozen layouts, all simple, all done entirely by me using Cermo's patented Bad HTML(tm). Each new look is inspired entirely by being sick and tired of the last one. My current layout is only as interesting at the background, which I enjoy despite the crappy quality of the pic.

You talk about TV shows a lot. Which shows have had the deepest effect on your life and why?

I don't know how profound an effect any show has had on my life. It's really just entertainment. I don't think there's much rhyme or reason to the type of shows I like. I'm a big fan of a lot of old shows like Hogan's Heroes, and M*A*S*H...maybe to some extent they remind me of the weekends spent at my Dad's place when I was younger, I dunno. (strokes beard thoughtfully) I enjoy many sci-fi shows, and that's no surprise to anyone who knows me...I'm a space case. Nah..nothing deep about it, I just like TV.

Mudgirl is mentioned frequently in your diary. What does she mean to you?

I met Mudgirl several years ago (I can't remember how many but it feels like a decade) when I picked her at random out of the AOL member directory and sent her an IM, something along the lines of "hiyah howya doin?". We hit it off and became fast online friends. She lived nearby, and very soon we met and were hanging out fairly regularly. I now consider her one of my closest friends. She's someone I'm very proud to know, and I often wonder at the simple random act that brought her into my life. With a little prodding I convinced her to join Diaryland, to which she brings a wit and wisdom only a slightly warped psychologist is capable of.

You work at an Animal Wellness center. What is your job role there? What led you to choose this occupation?

I was hired more than a year ago, on a temporary basis, to enter all the patient records into the new computer system...and I just sorta never left. If I had a job title, it would probably be "random employee". I'm one of three regular employees there, not counting the doctors, but I'm still the only random one. I work part-time, filling in wherever I'm needed. One day I'm a secretary, the next I'm assisting in surgery, next I'm doing dental work, running errands, stuffing envelopes, or perhaps blasting an animal with a photon gun. No, really...promotes healing. I never went looking for a veterinary job, but I do love animals. There's plenty of garbage to be put up with here, but I'll always love that part of the job. And working with my buddy Oso (who got me the job in the first place) makes it that much more fun.

Tell us through your eyes, what is love?

I've said it before and I'll say it again: "gah..der..nih..puppies?"

Okay..love, to me, can be as simple as caring about the happiness and welfare of someone else even more than caring about your own. That's a love I understand well enough. As for being in love...I'm clueless. I had so many crushes through my school years I wondered if I'd recognize true love if it came up and kicked me in the nuts. Being so thoroughally warped, shy, lonely, and just generally pathetic, I'd fall in love with any and every girl who would so much as smile at me. It's embaressing, but it's really no secret that I'm as naive and inexperienced as one can be short of being a virgin. And sex, though a wonderful thing, by no means sheds any light on the issue. If anything, it warps your whole perception and just muddles up the whole thing. I suppose maybe I'll have it all figured out before I'm dead, but not by much. :-)

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

10:46 a.m.
2001-11-16

project2501

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top