latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: dependant -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

My name is Shelley, I'm 18 and I live in Sydney Australia, I'm at university (but not often). I'm Eurasian(half asian/half english) which means that whenever I'm out people look at me fuzzily before asking "So where are you from" or "What are you?".My diary is about me and the little things that happen and don't happen, like boys and creepy old men. I try and keep it upbeat but I hit patches of hormone driven angst every now and again. I have friends... somewhere...I'm not really sure... and I find the little things in life amusing, like old people falling over... (Kidding!)

Why did you choose this username?

I've actually had about 8 diaries since finding diaryland, my first was pretty much about me being a usual angsty body hating stuffed up teenager (we've all been there), but my friends found my diary and it sucked majorly so I moved on. I decided to quit with all the diaries that focused on harm and hate and pain because it meant the whenever I wrote I'd become depressed and it'd cycle. So Dependant was born, its name was really off the cuff and random because I'd tried heaps of other names and they were all taken..(damn my lack of unoriginality.) But essentially it's because I am dependant on other people. When I'm alone I introvert but when there are other people its like I act for them and I can joke and laugh and have fun.. (damn I write too much, sorry!)

Why do you keep a diary online?

Oops, I've already sort of answered this, but I guess because its fun and it helps me track my life, my friends all have one and its how we catch up on each others lives without any of that pesky human interaction ;)

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think its essential, sure a diary is yours and you have the choice but really if your online then it should be pretty or at least a reflection of who you are or how you write or else just something other then one of the 6 templates from Diaryland. That being said I've also found a lot of gorgeous diaries that are brainless and uninteresting. I guess they're like people in that respect. My diary layout changes when I can be bothered, its just hard to find something that fits with the tone of my diary and that will work on netscape as well as IE. I like my new one, the amoebas's are cute.

So, you've been an extra--more than once! What's that like?

The best fun ever.. well sort of, it gets boring a lot because of the endless time spent hanging around. But it is fantastic because its so surreal to be sitting in costume somewhere eating bagels and discussing politics with some guy who has his neck slashed open. I'd love to do more of it if I can because the money is great and you can use it to impress the easily impressed! :)

I would have to say that you have one of the craziest lives that I have read about in Diaryland. What is the craziest thing you have ever done? Do you regret it?

Me? Crazy life? I find my life dull really, it just has stupidity mixed in to alleviate complete boredom. But I guess I get moments of strangeness happening. The craziest thing I've ever done would be, well I don'tknow... tonight I danced in the rain with my tiny dog because she's afraid of thunder and I thought it'd help her relax, to cut a long story short, it didn't and now we're both soaked and she's still scared. That New Years Eve was pretty funny though, people still tease me about it! And I wonder what would've happened between me and Enrico...Oh Enrico!But no, I only ever regret things I don't do because there is always "What if.." If I were to be running for some beauty pageant Miss Teen Queen whatever ( we don't get them in Australia) then my piece of inspirational advice would be just to do it, forget about embarrassment or so called "international morality" just take a leaf out of George Bush's book anddo what'll make you happiest! (sorry, that was unnecessarily political) But enjoy your life because you don't want to be bitching to John Edwards when you're dead!

What is the best part about being a Diaryland diarist? And what's the worst?

The best is being able to look in on other people's lives, some of them are amazing! they've been through so much and they just keep moving. Also there are comedians scattered through Diaryland, they can make me laugh with only the smallest of sentences. The worst is constantly worrying that someone will find it, especially if its a boy you like! Sorry to sound girly but I would freak out if any of the numerous boys that I've written about ever read me. I try to write honestly and capture first impressions which might insult some people if they ever read it. My friends all read me so I don't get to bitch about them anymore either (at least not online...)

You have these enlarged lines of text spread throughout your diary. What's up with those? What make them more important than the rest of the writing? And what are some of your favorite lines of all time?

Those are song lyrics and I know, it bugs me too when you reach them in someone's diary, and in my defense I've been trying to cut down on them but they're addictive y'know.. like crack, only musical. Its just that sometimes you don't have the words to express how you feel and you find a song that makes you ache because its you all over. That sounds so lame and university-student-sitting-in-a-black-room-with-incense-listening-to-pearl jam, but its the best way I can explain it..other times its just because the song sounds pretty.

My favourite ones are either from Garbage, pick a song any song, they're all good. Or The Lucy Nation - Alright, "Waiting, watching, restoration for those who stay. Waving to those that walk away." I like "Alright" because its basically about being left behind, and as life goes on people will leave you and its hard but it happens.

Interviewed by Brandi

previous next

most recently:

2:16 p.m.
2002-11-20

deception

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top