latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: protoplast -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Hi, my name is Rachel and as of Saturday, September 7th, 2002 I will be 27 years of age. I enjoy going to the theatre and long walks on the beach. I'm an amateur existentialist and non-practicing bisexual. Seriously though, I grew up in a small, small town in IL with a normally dysfunctional, divorced-parents, "my father's not really my father" family and moved to the "big city" of Milwaukee, Wisconsin 10 years ago. I've lived in between here and San Deigo, CA for much of that time. I'm a college graduate who's not doing what she went to school to do. I own my house filled with lesbians and my best friend from college and her husband live upstairs. Oh and I currently have a boy I met through my diary living in my basement. I also started my own business out of my house a couple of years ago. In my "free time" I write, direct, and act in plays around town.

Why did you choose this username?

I looked up a synonym for original and found protoplast. Now, I realize a protoplast is really a one-celled organism, but let's try to think outside the box.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I started this when I was consulting/teaching at various schools and had down-time in between classes. I also originally started it to chronical my budding relationship with another boy named Jake--he's loving referred to in my diary as "the boy." But things quickly got complicated (I had sex with his sister) and I'm still writing. I think I still write in it because I have lots of friends here now and there are also people in my "real life" that keep up-to-date on my goings on through my diary. That and It's a quick and easy way to keep a journal (read procrastinate) wherever you have internet access without accruing thousands of paper journals (I have about 20 since I was 16). I still write in my paper journal occassionally.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Layout isn't that important if the words jump off the page. Take ozmodiar's for example. That yellow drive me crazy, but with him I can ignore the background because his words enthrall me, make me laugh, and sometimes make me cry. My journal has gone through several different looks, the most long-lasting being the Angelina Jolie layout Lex did. I loved that layout because it was me for so long. The cigarette in one hand and bottle of booze in the other. (Lex also did the layout for my current journal and my custom-made lettersanon site.) I changed to my current layout because it fit my mood. I'm already in a different mood though and when I have some free time I will be changing it again. I'd really like to design it myself though.

In your diary, you say: "So what really is love?" So tell me, what really is love?

(throws her head back and laughs) I don't know if I'll have an accurate answer to that question until I'm actually in love for the long haul. I love my family and I love my friends, but I don't think that's the love your talking about. Love to me is having someone know me so completely I barely have to speak and vice versa. Love is fun and quirky and strange and full of surprises. I want someone who let's me live my crazy life, but is there at night to cuddle with and have sex with and tell stories to. Is that asking too much?

What is your life plan?

Funny you should ask because I think I've figured it out finally (until I change my mind again). I don't ever want to be poor ever again. So, I want to continue what I'm doing and save lots of money. When I'm thirty I'll have a baby with or without the presence of a significant male other in my life. When I'm 35 I'm moving to New York with all my savings and try to make it as a playwright. I've planned my life without someone else in it and I'm sure it'll change a little if that someone ever comes knocking on my door.

In a lot of your entries, you don't seem to be happy with who you are, or where you are in your life. What right now this minute would make you happy?

Here's my truth--I am happy most of the time and I think I'm pretty kickass. It's in my diary I let loose all the darkness, all of the demons. Granted, I'm not generally speaking a happy-go-lucky type of person and I have my moments of severe darkness when there is no light in sight, but right now I am a little bit closer to happy. It's such an intangible entity. I equal being happy with being content and I honestly don't ever see myself being content. But what would make me happier is to have someone lying next to me at night fulfilling all those wants as listed above. I have many people in my life who fulfill most of those wants, which definitely helps with the happiness factor. But still, to have that one person....

Okay here is your zany, silly, spoof question that we at Interview are so fond of asking! Pajama's or Birthday Suit to bed?

Depends on the mood. Usually birthday suit, but sometimes a tank top and panties. That way, when I wake up in the morning, I'm through on a pair of lounge pants (I have many) and I'm ready to go to work ;-).

Interviewed by Trinity

previous next

most recently:

2:11 p.m.
2002-11-20

protoplast

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top