latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: ktothac -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

There�s really not much of interest to tell. I�m a 20 year-old female who lives with her parents and works at a video store. I�ve been to college twice, but can never manage to get my act together long enough to stay there. I plan to go back. I use the words "plan" loosely. I write fan fiction, as well as stories with original characters, and poetry. I�ve just recently taken a stab at web designing, with a little help from my friends. Okay, a lot of help.

I like to consider myself a pretty positive person, even in the face of certain doom. I guess when doom knocks on your door nearly every day you kind of have to learn to just roll with the punches, right? I�m chatty, almost too chatty. I like to figure out what makes people tick and learn all of their secrets. And truthfully I�m fairly good at that. I don�t know why, but people have this tendency to spill all of their emotional baggage on me and ask for advice. And I�m told that I give great advice. Which is odd considering that my knowledge of most crisis situations comes from the movies.

I like to get to the bottom of things and can never just let them fester and rot. I don�t believe it�s healthy to sit on top of problems. I�m more of a problem-embracer. I love to learn about people and things, and I believe that there�s two sides to every story so I�m not one to judge. I�m pretty open minded about all things. In order to prove that one would only have to take a look at my CD collection, very eclectic. I don�t limit myself by boxing things in and choosing them from their labels. I like to think I�m the same with people and real-life situations.

Why did you choose this username?

Interesting question. Miranda, my best friend, and I had this stupid joke and she was M-Dawg and I could be K to tha C. I�d always used "Tigrelilee," as my username online. It was something my Dad came up with when I was 15 or so. Diaryland was one of the first places that I used a different name. I guess I was tired of being "Tigrelilee" and so I picked the nickname that Miranda had given me, even if it was in passing. There�s nothing particularly profound about my username. In fact, it�s really pretty dumb.

Why do you keep a diary online?

Initially I started the diary in March of 2000 because a friend of mine, Scott, recommended it to me. I�d always tried to keep notebooks and diaries throughout my life, with no real luck at maintaining one for any measurable period of time. I thought it would be something new and different. Even when I had notebook-based-diaries I had often shared an entry with a friend over the phone. I�m very open that way. This was a way for me to do it in a completely different way. I gave it a shot.

As far as keeping the diary goes, I�m actually surprised that I still keep the thing. Lately I�ve become more active in my writing, almost every single day or more. I guess it keeps me busy. I don�t really need it to vent my frustrations and worries because I�m such a vocal person that I usually can keep nothing to myself. I guess it�s just a way for me to remember things. Why does anyone keep a diary?

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I don�t consciously ignore or dislike diaries with poor or messy layouts. It simply happens that way more often than not. And, I don�t think it�s a mere coincidence. Aesthetically pleasing diaries are nice to look at, but when it comes down to it, if there�s no substance it doesn�t matter how pretty it is. What good is a fancy plate gonna do you if there�s nothing on it?

But, a personalized layout does create something tangible about a person. It sets a mood. I don�t think that it�s true in all cases, but sometimes the layout of a diary can give you an indication about the authors themselves. It gives the diary itself a personality, a personality shown to you by the author. Messy, big, small, confined, spread out - it�s all relevant.

My layout is constantly changing. I�ve just learned to make an imagemap and so I�ve incorporated that into my diary. I�ve used my diary as a place just to try out new designing methods that I�ve learned or discovered. If it works, it works. If it doesn�t, I change it. I use a photo of myself as a child on the diary, and even though it wasn�t intended, it does say something about myself. I�m a dreamer with a lost childhood. Doesn�t mean I wouldn�t be if my layout looked different.

First of all, your diary is incredible. For being just twenty years old, your depth and insight are just fabulous. With that being said, If you could change one thing about your self what would it be?

Okay well first of all, I�m going to say thank-you for that. My need to over-analyze and over-explain things has gotten me into some trouble before, but it�s my lack of real drive that gets me in the biggest messes. I could pick out a bunch of things that I could just snap my fingers and say, "PRESTO-CHANGE-O!" But if I change my willingness to change those things myself then I guess I�ve accomplished a lot more, right?

I don�t want to go casting blame on anyone, but I don�t think my parents brought me up with a really good work ethic. I look at certain people, and they see something that needs doing, they go out, and they do it. End of story. I admire people like that. Unfortunately, I�m not one of them. So if I could change one thing, it would be that.

You write about Miranda in your diary:) Tell me your definition of a friend, and do you think you are a good friend?

A friend is someone who accepts you for who you are, and are happy to let you be that person. And you, in return, are happy to let them be who they are. It�s not about tastes or likes or dislikes, it�s about who they are. But it�s also someone who�s going to tell you what they think, no matter how you might react to it. And someone who can listen to how you feel, and try to take what you say into consideration. It�s not about being judged. It�s about letting each other know how you feel. Friendship for me, is what it is. You can�t change it. And you especially can�t change your friends. That�s not what it�s about. It�s about acceptance.

Tom Stoppard said something like this in his play The Real Thing, "There is, I suppose, a world of objects which have a certain form, like this coffee mug. I turn it, and it has no handle. I tilt it, and it has no cavity. But there is something real here which is always a mug with a handle. I suppose. But politics, justice, patriotism - they aren't even like coffee mugs. There's nothing real there separate from our perception of them. So if you try to change them as though there were something there to change, you'll get frustrated, and frustration will finally make you violent."

Friendship is the same way. If you try to change it, you�re only going to hurt yourself and your friends. But at the same time, your friendship with that person is changing on it�s own, living and breathing, and it�s your job to let it change, not to stop it from doing so.

I think I�m a good friend to people, but sometimes I can be too trusting. Miranda and I have a relationship that really can�t be understood by anyone else but us. To deny her would be to deny myself. Even if we don�t see each other as much anymore, our friendship is just as strong. When you let someone in, they become a part of you. A part that you probably didn�t even know existed before they came along. I try to understand my friends and where they�re coming from and I always let them know that their decisions belong to them and not to me. If they screw up, I�m still going to be there for them, even if I warned them against it. They know this about me because I tell them with no amount of uncertainty. They trust me because of it.

What is your fondest memory and why?

This is a difficult question to answer. It�s hard to put your finger on one particular moment and call it your fondest memory. If I had to choose one, it would be the memory of my Grandfather. In the winter of 1999 I stayed with him and my grandmother in south Texas for a little over a week. I spent Christmas with them and returned home on January 1st 2000. During that time, I learned so much about his life and how he lived it, and who he was and where he�d been. It was really amazing getting to know him in that short visit. I really never had the chance before.

It came just in time. In February of 2000 he suffered a stroke and he passed away the following October. When he died. At first, I was very sad, but after a while, I realized that out of all of the things I�d learned on my last trip to visit him, I�d learned that he was truly a great man and that he had lived an amazing life. The fact that I know this, without question, because I had a chance to hear the stories coming from him directly, is probably one of the best gifts that I�ve ever received.

Okay! You are a "muppet" from the "Muppet Show" Which one are you? And why?

I�m probably most like Kermit. You know, cool name, massive eyes, green skin. No. Actually I think Kermit was the most levelheaded out of the bunch and I guess that describes me as far as my interactions with others. I see things that some people don�t see. Kermit has excellent vision.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

1:56 p.m.
2001-10-26

ktothac

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top