latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Discothekid -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

My name is Douglas and I was born in Ft. Knox Kentucky in May of 1971. My dad was in the Army so I grew up on Army bases all over the world. I moved to NY from Arkansas when I was 11 to come live with my Mom and have been a New Yorker ever since. I got married three years ago in November to the most beautiful chick in the universe. I was a wild kid. I was diagnosed as having ADHD when I was in Junior High School because I couldn't sit still in my seat. My parents didn't believe in the disease so I just grew up thinking I was retarded. As an adult my wife is constantly reminding me to stop pacing in the house and she usually has to hold my hand in the supermarket because the florescent lighting makes me susceptible to bright packaging and adult contemporary music. Seriously, if you ever see a redheaded guy squinting his eyes and babbling the lyrics to Rainy Days and Mondays while bumping into the produce, chances are my wife turned her back for a minute. That sums it all up in a nutshell.

Why did you choose this username?

My best friend Kevin bought me a giant disco ball for Christmas last year. I hung it up over the computer. When I was thinking of a user name I had already had a name for the journal. I guess I looked no further than that. I really wish I had thought that name out a little more.

Why do you keep a diary online?

My wife has been reading on-line journals for years. When I would pick her up at the train station after work, she would talk about these people as if she knew them. I thought she had truly gone fishing. I would say stuff like, "You know you have real friends right?" She started showing me these journals. There was one in particular written by a girl from Brooklyn. I thought she was just great! I think her journal is something like bobafett.com but spelled a little differently. Anyway, I was going through writers block really terribly. I would try to write lyrics or something and end up screaming at the paper. My wife suggested that I write a journal but I didn't know HTML. She set me up at diaryland and taught me how to use the damn thing because I'm lucky if I can get the Play Station to work. We named the journal Earthbound Disco Ball because that's what I told her the writer's block made me feel like.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Where my journal is concerned I am positive the design is the most important thing. My wife does all of my designs. Shandy should probably get most of the credit for Earthbound because the design is way cooler than the content. I'm shocked I have readers at all. When cuppajoe included my journal in his 12% Beer page I thought, "Do you even read this stuff or are you just fixated on the little dancing afro guy?" I think a good design is important because if you are just surfing around you might just stop if you see something really cool. By the way I want to mention that everyone involved with 12% Beer are truly amazing journal writers and their designs are great too.

What is your favorite aspect of living and working in New York? Why?

The spirit of this city is my favorite thing about the place. It stands separately from its people. I love this place because it teaches you that everything you are is all right. Because of Scorsese films, New Yorkers have this reputation of being this angry lot that threw our brains out the window hence why we rarely pronounce our R's correctly. The truth is we have a mindset all our own, a mindset that couldn't possibly survive in other industrial states. We are exposed to hundreds of cultures and languages every time we walk out of the house, yet New Yorkers can spot an outsider 10 miles away. Why do you think that is? I love Brooklyn in particular because of places like Coney Island or Brighton Beach. I love walking along the boardwalk and staring at the park that separates the Russian neighborhood from The Projects, the greatest outdoor parties in the world happen in that park. Some of the best old-school rap music was invented in that park as well.

Between your user name and multiple entries on music, it is obvious this is a defining aspect of your personality. As you give so much of yourself to your music, what does it give back to you?

My love affair with rock and roll in particular began when I was nine. My stepmother had these fantastic Alice Cooper records that had these really scary album covers. I wasn't allowed to listen to them so I snuck them in my room when she was sleeping and I believe this was probably the single most important event of my life. Music gives me everything the Buddhists tell you is possible. It gives me things I couldn't possibly describe without sounding like Michael Stipe. I never want to sound like Michael Stipe.

Do you share your "on-line" life (including diaryland) with your spouse? Why or why not?

You make "on-line" life sound like a really cool alternative lifestyle. I don't have a big "on-line" life. My wife reads my journal from work everyday and lets me know what was misspelled or out of context. She'll also lets me know when I suck. Once in a while I'll stop into the diaryland chat room but we all know all know how exciting that is. This is pretty much the extent of my "on-line" life.

OK, inquiring minds want to know, afro or mohawk?

Mohawk every time.

Interviewed by Witchgirl

previous next

most recently:

2:19 p.m.
2001-10-26

discothekid

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top