latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: lacorneille -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I'm Mel. I'm currently attending Simon's Rock College of Bard, and I'm planning on transfering to Colorado College and majoring in geology. I'm working towards my black belt in Kukkiwon Taekwondo, and I spend the rest of my time studying, sleeping, writing, reading, rock climbing, doing archery, or being Social (this last is new with college). People have described me as "odd."

Why did you choose this username?

I chose it for long and complicated reasons which can be seen here. The shortversion is that it means, according to my French-English dictionary, "The Crow." It happens to refer to two of my interests, Victor Hugo's Notre-Dame de Paris and the movie The Crow, and it's French.

Why do you keep a diary online?

Basically, because it's the only way I actually manage to keep a diary/journal. The combination of diary and dialogue keeps me interested, where I would have lost interest in a paper diary long ago.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would youalso comment on yours?

I really like tinkering with HTML, and part of the reason I like online diaries is seeing the creative layouts. But I think that, at base, all a layout has to be is readable. My current layout (the Satine one) I made during a period when various things in my life were falling apart, thus the rather depressing lyrics. I've been too busy to make a new one. And it's Satine because, well, Nicole Kidman is hot. Plus I like sparkly things.

What's it like competing? And how important is competing to you?

Competing is hell. It's stressful and nerve-wracking and depressing and I hate it. I think I've only been to one tournament that didn't end with me crying the car or hotel room. This is why I compete. It's my edge, and I'm trying to wear it down and not take it so personally. Right now, if I don't place first I'm not good enough, and if I do place first, it's a fluke, or so I tell myself. I know intellectually that it's all bullshit, but I have to learn to believe that. That is why I compete.

How do you feel about people wondering about your sexual orientation? Is it annoying?

I don't mind people wondering. It amuses me to keep them guessing. I'm not sure how I feel about people making assumptions, though. Sometimes they bothers me. Right now, I really don't know how I feel about assumptions, since I'm beginning to wonder about my orientation again. Maybe I'll just be non-labelled.

I read in your diary that you don't want children, how come?

Well, overpopulation is my pet topic, for one. I don't feel that I, personally, need to add to the world's population. I'm also not very good with kids, in general, and considering how long I'm going to spend in school and the lifestyle I plan to have (semi-nomadic), I don't see where kids would fit it. I don't much want to be a single mother, and I don't see myself in a relationship (it could happen, I suppose, but I'm not sure I can ever be that comfortable with someone in my personal space for that long). I might change my mind someday. Who knows? The future is ever-shifting, etc.

Okay here is your zany, silly, spoof question that we at Interview are so fond of asking -- "What's it really like being a Diva?"

Hmmm. Well...I'm not really a diva. A drama queen, maybe, but not a diva. So, I suppose my answer shall be that it's a lot like being a flamingo. Make of that what you will.

Interviewed by Trinity

previous next

most recently:

1:49 p.m.
2002-11-20

lacorneille

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top