latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: olei

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I'm 22. Raised in Colorado. Oldest of two girls. Good friend, devoted Christian, sarcastic smartass. Grew up angry and bitter, and realized a little after high school that it's more fun to make people laugh than it is to make them hate you. I have a little sister, and a few close friends who I talk about all the time; they make my life complete and happy.

Why did you choose this username?

Olei is the latter part of a nickname given to me by a former friend of mine. She used to call me Sarolei; God knows why. I think she made it up randomly one day at work. Anyway, Sarolei got to be too cumbersome, so it was cut down to "Olei," and I've always sort of identified with it.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I think because I'm a lazy-ass, mostly. It took me a long while to get in the habit of writing in my paper journal,and once I did, I was so used to writing in here, that I just kept this up. I write in my paper journal frequently now, too, but I'm a much clearer writer when I can type it all out, quickly and effectively.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I don't really care about layouts. I think they're somewhat important, but not nearly as important as what's said within the diary. Although I do get irritated with too much stuff on the main page. I think it distracts from the point of a journal: the writing.

I read and smiled your entry about being a "tomboy" Being a former tomboy myself, I can relate with you. Share with us if you will, how being a tomboy affected your life as a child, and how it affects you now?

Being a tomboy kicked/kicks ass. I get the pleasure of having a million guy friends, but not having to deal with them when they get to be stupid boys and need a time-out. It has its drawbacks when dealing with boyfriends, though, I guess. I just relate better with guys. We can talk about football and relationships and how stupid girls are, because boys are more honest when they know you're on their team. Growing up, I didn't really have a choice BUT to be a tomboy. My sister and I grew up with five boys from our neighborhood. Given that we were the only girls, we sort of were adopted into the group as boys. And that suited me just fine. Girls have always been too snooty and high maintenance for me. Most girls are so catty, I can't even handle being around them. But, like my pal Molzo says: [I] identify best with girls who identify with boys best.

What is important to you?

My relationship with God, firstly. I'm incomplete and ultimately unhappy when I'm at odds with God. My two best friends. I write about them all the time, because they're both such huge factors in my life. I'm going to marry them both when we grow up. My kid sister (heh, remember that commercial?) She's beautiful and hilarious, and quickly becoming one of my most trusted friends. After the aforementioned people, everything sort of melds together into a beautiful picture of love and happiness. My friends, my family, my education, my broads, all so amazing and fulfilling.

Tell me about your faith?

My faith is nothing, or - very little - without my best friend. He strengthens my relationship with God in ways I could never have imagined. He helps me believe in and respect God, even through the hardest times. Our relationship is very God-centered, and it's evident in the way we treat each other, and the way we treat life. God is so cool; He's been such a calming force in my life. When everything gets to be too much, I pray and I start to feel better.

You have been given the ability to close your eyes and click your heels three times like Dorothy, and go wherever you want-where will go you go, and who will you take with you?

Definitely going to Iceland. Even though I'm a tourism major, it's hard to say if I'll ever really get there. So if I could go anywhere, even as unprepared as I am, I'd go to Iceland. It's so beautiful there, and very rich in culture and heritage. I'd have to do something about the food, though. I'd take my two best friends and Manda's boy with me. I can't think of a greater experience than going to a foreign country, where none of us speak the language. Amanda and I are so goofy as it is, that we would probably just find the whole thing amazingly entertaining, while our boys would be frustrated that we can't get anywhere and pissed at us for thinking it's so funny. It'd be great to wander the hills and valleys and hot springs of Iceland with them all. We'd all bring such an interesting aspect to our jaunt across the Atlantic Ocean, that it surely would be a kick-ass trip.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

6:47 p.m.
2002-01-24

olei

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top