latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: over and out

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Hi, my name is Tori and I like to watch. No, not that, but I enjoy watching movies and concerts and television and so on and so forth. I also enjoy writing about it, which led to the creation of Over and Out. When I'm not playing media sponge, I'm a 22-year-old college senior in Iowa.

Why did you choose this username?

A friend of mine sometimes signs his e-mails to me with that phrase. Back in June 2000, when I got the first idea for a zine, Over and Out would be it's title, as dorks, nerds, and geeks are often described with those two adjectives. Come March of 2001, I then realized that over and out described media and its effect on people. So O&O it was.

Why do you keep a diary online?

There's been a lot of spewage about this, so I'll keep it short: writing for an audience helps me personally and professionally, as words will be my chosen field. Also, in almost two years at Diaryland, I hope that I have helped someone else in writing about my own struggles - or I have helped someone realize that Creed is not what one would call good music.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think layout is very important for a web based diary. I guess I'll call it the Shallow Hal rule: there are diaries around here with bad layouts and templates but wonderful words that don't get a lot of attention from others. On the other hand, there are beautiful diaries 'round these parts that are nearly unintelligible. If and when you happen to have the right browser to access them, their words don't leave a mark with you, which hurts all the same.

With Over and Out's layout, in working with Kelly, I wanted something simple and memorable. Simplicity is good. Those cursors with the stars following your arrow around the screen are irksome.

You share in your diary that you are interested in politics. If you were President what changes would you make?

There would be many changes. This should be short, so I will make this how I would have handled Sept. 11 and everything after. It would be like being a kid in a candy store. Well, we wouldn't be in the war we're in right now under the same circumstances. I personally would have done everything in my power not to have gone to war, especially starting everything so close to Ramadan. I personally like honesty and not glossed over details, so I would have gone to the American people and told them about the "War On Terrorism" and said that we'd be invading Afghanistan. Once that was finished, I would explain (in the vaguest possible manner, of course) what was next. I don't like the war being spelled out as something that would last six to eight years and be fought on all manner of fronts.

I wouldn't have released the entire Osama bin laden tape for news broadcast. I don't understand what that would have helped. I wouldn't have hired John Ascroft as my attorney general, because no matter the circumstance, be they muslim immigrants or Oregon's assisted suicide law, he has bumbled his way through the first eleven months of the Bush administration.

For the murders and assaults committed on Muslims after September 11, I would have passed a hate crimes law with very strict prison sentences. I also would continue to urge tolerance for Muslims. Just last weekend, a friend of mine and I drove by the Islamic Center in her city. She said, "They cut their grass now, after they bombed us." My mouth dropped wide open. She wouldn't relent in her views, even after I explained how no one from her city was a terrorist or had been implicated in terrorist attacts!

And, I wouldn't have dropped the economic stimulus bill. That was a bad bad move for a country that needs jobs replaced, not continual persusasion from the government to spend money they don't have.

Tell me about Iowa. What do you like about it, what do you not like about it?

Iowa is a state of 2.5 million people spread out into 99 counties. It is located west of Illinois, east of Nebraska, north of Missouri, and south of Minnesota. I live nearly in the dead center of the state.

I have a love-hate relationship with Iowa, so what I like about Iowa is personal. I've spent nearly a fifth of my life here, so I've made some wonderful memories with my college life. Some of my best friends are natives of the state. I like the hills in the southern portion of the state, and crossing the Mississippi River when entering or leaving it. But unfortunately, when I go to my parents' house, I go through the sparsely populated northern portion of it. There's something about seeing nothing for miles around you that is spooky.

I don't like the intolerance of the people here to diversity. There isn't much thinking outside of the box. Instead, you'll find a lot of complaining about how Iowa's young people are leaving the state in droves, but no one has moved to keep them here. I'd say that the incentives to stay in the state have dwindled since I started school in 1997.

If you could recreate any one day from your childhood, which would it be?

The day I left Catholic school for the public junior high in eighth grade. I spent much of that day imagining what was being said about me back over at the Catholic school, when I just have just settled in and enjoyed my new digs.

What's your favorite joke?

Q: What did the farmer say when he lost his tractor?

A: Where's my tractor?

Wherever John Donovan is today, I'd like to salute him. That joke is still as good as it was ten years ago.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

1:43 p.m.
2002-01-23

over and out

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top