latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: orangina21 -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I came into the world kicking and screaming in December of 1980, and because my mother decided to make breakfast for my grandparents while she was in labor, I was almost born on my kitchen floor. I grew up in a log cabin where my parents still live.

In 1999 I came to college here in Connecticut as a landscape architecture major. After I broke up with my high school sweetheart (of four years) I dated a couple of guys, including an emotionally abusive person who made me feel quite

worthless. I learned a few lessons from that, though. Then I met Dan, and it would not be an exaggeration to say that he completely changed the way I see life.

A less happy turning point came last spring, when I was diagnosed with melanoma. Although it was removed from my arm, leaving me with a huge scar, it was a quickly metastasizing type, so there is no way of knowing if somewhere in my body, tiny cells are gathering to contemplate my demise. I re-examined my whole life, and ended up switching majors. It was a tough decision, because I liked landscape architecture, but the amount of time I spent working on my schoolwork was literally affecting my health. I realize now that horticulture is my first love anyway. Plants are good.

Why did you choose this username?

Actually, it�s quite silly. I had to find a new username for this webpage because the one I used for my last page, turned out to mean "the stupidest of the stupid" in Greek. :) I love goldfish, and my favorite fish is named Orangina. I always have my small tank in my room, and I just happened to look over and see her swimming around, so I decided that it would be a good name. 21 is my favorite number, and every time I�ve ever started a new relationship, it has always been on the 21st of the month for some reason. My anniversary with Dan is April 21, Earth Day.

Why do you keep a diary online?

That�s a good question. Sometimes I wonder, but mainly, I can type much faster than I can write, and it is easier for me to keep it up regularly than a paper journal. Also, I document everything. I am a photographer as well as obsessive-compulsive by nature.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

My layout is quite simple. I worry most that it works on everyone�s different browsers than anything! I know how frustrating it can be to try to view a webpage on a small monitor, or how hard it can be to find the links you want, and I respect that! Also I love Fugazi. They have been my favorite band for years, and they are amazing, and nice guys too from what I can tell. The flying pig picture (from the guestbook) I took last summer.

From your diary, what is your favorite quote and why?

Ah. I have a quotes section in my diary, which I guess you managed to run across. Here�s my favorite quote, which here includes a little bit more of the entry than I had originally quoted. "I live in the weirdest dorm... nowhere else in the world would I find myself standing in a towel, dripping from my shower, with cops in riot gear standing on the other side of my hallway. The weird part is, they were there for no apparent reason, except possibly to read my roommate's message board. That was what they did- they read �Lindsey is a slut�... and the other crap people had written on her message board. As I stood there, dripping, I said, 'Excuse me.' What I wanted to say was, �Just so you know, I'm not Lindsey.� " I just like that quote because it just sums up so neatly that odd feeling you get so often living in the dorms here.

You belong to many diaryrings. Explain which is most representative of you.

The one that I would hope is most representative of me is my friend speed-light�s "all-heart" ring. This is a ring for people who speak from their gut and strive for sincerity. This is for people who have a lot of heart and aren't afraid of life. I hope that describes me!

Using your pending horticulture degree, what would be your dream job?

I�m not quite sure yet, but something where I can work outdoors and also have enough free time to have a life would be quite nice.

You have a clear passion for flowers and music. If you were a flower and a type of music, which would you be?

If I could choose to be a flower, I would choose to be a daylily. I would be colorful and appear delicate, but be remarkably strong and adaptable too. I love all kinds of music, so I would just choose to be any kind of music where the lyrics were original and heartfelt, and the energy would help carry people through the tough spots in their lives.

Interviewed by Brandi

previous next

most recently:

9:24 a.m.
2002-03-27

orangina21

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top