latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: sukilicious

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I actually have a very nice essay that I wrote for a b-school application, but that�s not exactly short�

I had a very happy sitcom childhood. I was born and raised in Northern New Jersey. My mother is a teacher. My father is an engineer. There�s also an older sister (by 3 � years) who is now an accountant and married. We had dinner together every night (my mother is a great cook) around 5:30. We vacationed at National Parks in the summer and sometimes went beach resorts during winter school holidays. Weekends we would go to into New York and visit museums, &c� or state park-type places for walks. My sister and I were both valedictorians of our respective high school classes, played sports, were class officers and went on to good colleges.

I had no idea that this uber-normalcy was uncommon.

Now I�m 24 and fully realize how good I had it. I like to think that I�ve taken advantage of the privilege that I�ve been given. What I mean is that I worked hard at school and am happy to have a �good� job, albeit one that isn�t terribly exciting (to me). And I�m working to fix that.

Beyond that, I�m the closet-cool-girl, the girl-next-door, the cute-smart-girl, the wannabe-hipster, the yuppie/trixie, the zany-(but not out of control)-one-in-the-family. I�m silly. I (think I) am funny. I�m happy-go-lucky. I (think I) am a bit nervy. I could be the wacky neighbor. I have my finger on the pulse of pop-culture. I love reality-based television. I like smart boys with a compatible sense of humor, decent taste in music/ books/ film/ television, and who would never ever think about buying me a stuffed animal. I walk to work if the weather�s ok. I�ve got my own art hung on the walls of my apartment. I�m a bit of an archaeology junkie and love visiting ruins. Churches too. I love visiting churches/ places of worship. I think that�s enough.

Why did you choose this username?

This is actually sort of lame� When I started becoming an �internet person,� I wanted to find a name that was a �name� but not too identifiable. I picked the screen name �Suki� from (yes I am embarrassed to admit this) a minor character in the original Bridget Jones� Diary. Suki was the seemingly perfect, ever bitchy, tall, tan Scandanavian woman that Daniel Cheever dumped Bridget for. (In the movie version, Suki becomes �Laura from New York�.) Her token line in the book was �I thought you said she was thin.�

The �licious came later on. I just wanted to find a fun way to alter my internet name that kept it identifiable. And I guess it made it a bit more cheeky.

Why do you keep a diary online?

Now? Habit.

I always meant to journal all pen-and-paper-y, but never followed through. Some of my internet friends started Diaryland diaries last summer. I started reading and thought it was fun, so I got my own.

I honestly didn�t think I would keep up with it because when I started in September, I was planning on moving home in October. And well, probably not much to write about, plus paranoia that my parents would find out about my internet dalliances�

Since I didn�t wind up doing that (i.e. leaving my job, moving home), I just sort of got into the habit of online journaling. It turned out to be quite a blessing in disguise to already be in �writerly� mode before I had to be for my school essays. And then it was great to have a channel to �release� and be creative (and, of course, procrastinate) while I was stressing about everything application-related.

Plus I�m a bit of a egoist and like to think that strangers are fascinated with my daily goings-on.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Honestly, I don�t think a layout is all that important. A good number of my favorites use the much-loathed Diaryland templates. If you want to get a pretty layout, that�s cool. I can definitely appreciate the effort, but if not, no big deal. However, if you want to have a pretty layout, I think it�s important to maintain the eye for design rather than shouting from the rooftops, �LOOKATME! I know some HTML!�

Of course, that being said� �LOOKATME! I know some HTML!� I think it�s difficult to find or create a layout that matches the tone and �mood� of a diary. I�m pretty happy with how I�ve put mine together, especially considering that I don�t really think I know much HTML, but I am having fun figuring it out.

Confession: I�ve cribbed most of the images from another (one of my favorite cosmetics company�s) website. SHH! don�ttellthem! One day it clicked that using their images would make a bitchin� layout, one that would work with this �online persona� I�ve created, so I figured out how to put the layout together, &c� And there it is. I like it.

What makes a good family?

This is a hard question! Since I only know my own experience, and don�t know what is due to nature or nurture, I can only offer a very biased answer.

I think I�m very (almost fiercely) independent. Of course I think this is a good thing. I think the ideal situation would be for each member to maintain his own life and interests, but at the same time, enjoy spending time together. Basically, respect is key. Don�t be pushy. Don�t be aggressive. Figure out how to communicate well. Listen. Figure out who your parents are, figure out who your siblings are.

I don�t call my sister or chat with my mom on AIM because I �should� or because �need to�. I do it because I want to. A parallel would be that I didn�t have a curfew when I was growing up. If I was going to be out late, or later than I thought, I would call. When I went out with friends, I would always leave a note so they knew where I was. Of course I was �bad� at times, but most of the time I behaved. I didn�t want my parents to worry.

It�s each member�s responsibility to keep things flowing well. Am I a good daughter because I had good parents or were my parents good parents because I am a good daughter? I don�t know. And yes, I already said that I was biased. And an egoist.

(Of course I have a secret online life that my family and real life friends mostly don�t know about. So I probably am a bad one to ask�)

Tell me what it felt like to discover you have a 'hate club'.

Honestly, the first time I read nasty stuff about me, it was kind of hard to take. As much as some people might say that all this internet stuff is just fun and games and none of it matters because it�s not like we know each other in real life, that doesn�t wash with me. I�m pretty much �me� online. I am a bit self-mocking and don�t (think I) take myself all that seriously and I�m the queen of the inside joke where I�m the only one who gets it.

The thing is, despite not really liking or respecting the �internet personas� of the people who wrote those things, it was hard to read. It just made me wonder how many other people I might have unknowingly alienated or offended in my online interactions.

But then I remembered that I didn�t like or respect those people to begin with. Or find them all that funny. So what�s the loss? I guess I just get frustrated when people don�t see me for all I am. It's sort of hard to stop being a pleaser.

But I've dealt. People will always stereotype and make assumptions. And if I can�t deal with some internet strangers talking smack about me, then I�m not really going to go anywhere, now am I?

Regardless, Charlotte was right�people just don�t like being criticized.

In your diary, you've talked about going to beauty school and then, later about going to business school. What would you love to do with your career?

Here�s the very abbreviated spiel that I�m giving the business schools (one trick pony, much?): After I get my MBA, I want to work in brand management and marketing at a cosmetics firm. My ultimate goal is to launch my own line of cosmetics.

I�ve actually done quite a bit of �soul-searching� (yes, I know how cheesy that sounds) in the past year or so, working with a career counselor to try to figure out why I�m not satisfied with my current position. Since I want to make both an industry and function shift, I figured that spending two years at business school, learning new skills, making contacts, really focusing on my career path would be the best way to do that. Sort of it was very last minute (my very first entries actually chronicle my �Hey, let�s apply to business school!�), but once I committed to it, I was in. It was a very conscious and deliberate action.

The whole cosmetics thing�I�m not really sure where that came from. I know it sounds REALLY shallow and girly, but I really like makeup. I also think that I would like to get a makeup artistry license/ certification. Or maybe just work at a counter part-time while I�m in school. Something like that. Sort of to hone in on my own mechanical skill as well as to increase my own knowledge and familiarity with the products.

The feminist part of me had a hard time owning up to this, but I came to thinking that it is OK and feminist on a number of levels. Then I realized�I want to work in an industry that makes products that help people feel better about themselves, helps them feel more attractive and stylish. How is that a bad thing?

Philosophically, I think that BEAUTY is a very inclusive thing, i.e. many people are beautiful but don�t like to think so. Although it is definitely getting better, I think that the BEAUTY INDUSTRY is fairly exclusive and lots of people are ignored. So what I want to do, ultimately, is launch a line of cosmetics targeted to these potential customers. Trust me, it was great fun to explain this to the former nuclear engineer who interviewed me at Chicago GSB.

Your favourite, sexy female rockstar asks you out on a date. You think she has her eye on you...that way. Do you play along? What happens on the date?

Why couldn�t it be my sweet, sweet, slightly underfed Ramsey on the Run?

Because that would be too predictable an answer, I suppose. So yeah, I think I would play along a little bit. Just a little bit. Although I like boys, I think I could see myself kissing a girl. I don�t think that would be beyond my comfort zone. Both because I�m a nice girl and, well, straight, I think benign kissing would be the furthest I would go�

I think the �what would happen� would definitely depend on who I decided was my �favorite, sexy female rockstar� that day. Regardless, I think it would involve carousing about town in a limousine, copious quantities of champagne and sushi. Definitely sushi. It would be like a real life version of Madonna�s �Music� video, but with sushi. Lots of sushi.

It should go without saying that I would be somewhat motivated just so I could be on MTV�s gameshow �Who Knows the Band?� and tell everyone that I kissed Gwen Stefani.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

12:07 p.m.
2002-03-12

sukilicious

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top