latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Bluering -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Born May 10th on a U.S. Army cargo plane from Norway bound for Germany. Months premature, with a four and a half pounds, and a birth certificate that says �Foreign airspace� as the birthplace and �Dwayne Rosco Forestere, Private, United States Army, attending physician�. The consummate tomboy who grew up with two brothers, two best friends, and two dogs. Oh, and a turtle. I always forget Tuttle. The girl who grew up in a brothel once owned by my mother�s grandparents and was quite the establishment in the 20�s, 30�s, and 40�s. In constant trouble, setting things on fire or saying the word �fuck� in church on Christmas Eve, arrested four times in the last two years. (I�m not a big fan of animal control, what can I say?) Way too smart, way too sarcastic, parents who�ve been together for nearly thirty years, an artist, and a girl with a theme song. Sums myself up nicely, I think.

Why did you choose this username?

The blue ring 1: a blue glass ring smashed last year when I dropped it and then stepped on it looking for it. A gift from my best friend that died two weeks previous. 2. The never ending cycle of my life. It is constant and there is always something happening in it. It is never a dull day in the life of...me. 3. This ring in a metal box, stone, tied with a pink bow. Passed around on special occasions in my family, from person to person in it's box along with something of yours. An object that means something. My last contribution to the box: a tooth from my fossil collection. Me: A girl...flawed and riddled with issues. Current ovarian cancer host and voted the Brooke Army Medical Center's Cancer Treatment Center's "Favorite Cancer Darling" two weeks in a row last month. Bald. An art career on hold because of two knee surgeries and this disease popping up out of nowhere. A girl who sometimes feels like music, like specific song lyrics or the music itself and can't describe that feeling beyond feeling like music. Who currently is listening to the Charlie Brown Christmas Album, and it�s not Christmas time anymore. In love and happy. Two dogs, a cat, a turtle named Tuttle. Two older brothers and an eight year old charge. A father who is a cartographer for the Army and has these great stories that start with the words "There was this time I dropped into a hot zone with the troops". A mother who is very Southern and is actually named Belle. Often blue. More than likely happy. Sometimes anxious to either die from cancer or get over it completely so I can move on. A girl who sits on the same couch when she hits her favorite coffee house, is cursed with a higher than she needs IQ, and at this very moment has bright orange toenails. There's also this underwear fetish and a bug collection. She is...I am...I have no damned clue.

Why do you keep a diary online?

Honestly, because I can. It�s the place where I tend to ramble and every so often manage to come up with something quite profound. Well, it is a bit more than that. It�s a place to write down the things that I don�t want in my paper journal; stupid stories about my family or observations from things I read and hear. It is my place to rant and go off on someone without actually doing so. It�s where I pour my heart out and the people I love can read it and know what�s going on inside my head when I can�t tell him otherwise. The main reason, though, is a lesson in self-editing. A way to find what I want to say, and the right way to say it, because I never know who�s going to read it. It�s almost like a game, a challenge, to find the exact right way to say what�s in my head.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Your diary is your diary. My favorite diary in Diaryland is a simple design that suits it�s writer. I guess really, layout doesn�t matter, content does. I�m not there to look at your pretty background or your interactive buttons, I�m there to find out what�s going on in your world.

My diary: like I said, it�s the place where I tend to ramble and every so often manage to come up with something quite profound. When I thought of how I wanted it to look, I got this impression of white with blue rings. Sort of how those rings look after you've left a glass sitting on something and it's left it's condensation behind. Watermarks. Those rings that aren't complete, yet are full circles. Various shades of blue, not just one. Something clean and simple. I�d given it a lot of thought and when I came across the Eris design page, I knew that Eris was the person to design it for me. I knew I�d never get it to look the way I wanted it, so I had to step away from it, as it were, and give it to someone else. My design is me. Nothing more, nothing less.

You have a trunk of 255 hand-written diaries. Now that you keep a diary on-line, do you still write on paper?

Daily. Twice daily. Sometimes three times a day or more. I�ve been paper journaling since I was eight, when I got the idea from my best friend, Ben. I constantly have something to say, something to remember, something to note. Since I�ve been sick and started chemo in late August, I�ve used my paper journal as a way to keep track of everything that�s going on with me and my body and my mind. I would never give up my paper journal practice unless I absolutely had to.

What makes you sad?

Myself, when I give up total hope that I�ll never go into remission and get out of this cancerous hell that is my life right now. When I have to hurt someone and it�s unavoidable. People who can�t treat animals kindly. The song �Soft Shoulder� by Ani diFranco. The fact that I can�t live forever, that the people I love can�t live forever, and that eventually, I won�t be around anymore. Pens that leak onto pages that took me hours to write

What�s the worse thing you�ve ever done?

I am a relatively nice kind of girl. I don�t do things out of spite or anger, it�s just not me. I guess I�d have to say it was when I was about ten or so and I set a Japanese temple on fire. I was bored and not wanting to be there, ready to go back out onto the street and look for Sanrio stores. So I started my own game of cowboys and Indians while my mother and brothers were doing god knows what. I had this pink plastic Hello Kitty purse that I was swinging over my head as a lasso. It was going great, I was off in my own little imaginary world, until I accidentally let go of the bag and it went sailing through the air into a row of candles, which promptly caught the bag, the table, and altar on fire. My mother kept me very close by for the rest of the trip and I never did see another Sanrio store that week.

What is the best word in the dictionary and why?

Desire. To long or hope for

Why? Because it�s sensual. It�s sexy. It�s leading. It�s exciting. Because it�s not just a bar in New Orleans, where I have this great kiss planned out underneath the Desire Bar neon sign. Because one of the best gifts I�ve ever gotten was an Oxford Pocket Dictionary of Current English dated 1924 that had a Koa wood bookmark lodged on the page for the definition of desire. Because when I think of the word desire, every kissing thought I�ve ever had floods my brain and I�m absolutely side tracked. You can�t, in my opinion, get much better than the word �desire�

Interviewed by Gingerbug

previous next

most recently:

1:33 p.m.
2002-02-20

bluering

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top