latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Cello -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

i'm a 25 yearold girl originally from ottawa, canada. after surviving the teenager years, i moved to southern ontario to complete an english degree... and now i can't seem to leave!

to fund my addiction to beer and movies, i work for a fancy computer company as a technical writer. i spend most of my time emailing and pulling fun of my coworkers, but they still pay me, shrug. outside of work, i spend a lot of time playing music for various bands (including the one i'm officially in)... my spare time is also spent watching movies, reading comics, drinking too much, and pulling fun of my friends. and that's about it.

Why did you choose this username?

i've been playing the cello since high school - i first got into it when my grandfather showed up on my doorstep with a cello that he actually made. he tended to do things like that... so yeah, it turned out to suit me quite well. i love the warmth and calmness of its sound. anyways, when i got to university i started playing for various angsty guitarists in residence, using my cello powers to win friends and influence people... i've been playing for various bands ever since.

also, i just like the word. it is very satisfying both when you say it out loud, or read it on the page. cel-lo. cool :)

Why do you keep a diary online?

i've got two reasons:

one is that i love to write about everyday things, without beginning or end. i love telling stories.

the second is the anonymity. writing without people knowing who you are is a huge high - because they have to focus purely on what you say - they have no other information or perceptions of you with which to filter your self-expression. by the same token, i also like not knowing who my readers are - i don't tailor my thoughts as much, which lets me write with a lot more integrity and honesty. it's a win-win situation...

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

at first i wanted to be pure and removed from the whole layout thing - this is about writing, not glitz. of course, then i realized that no one reads your journal unless you put some effort into it.

i still like the focus to be on the entries though - i find that, as with movies that use a lot of special effects, sometimes having something fancy gives people an excuse to be lazy about actual content. another thing: i like it when the entries describe a person, not the graphics or layout. I find that visual stuff tends to be static and set in stone, whereas the entries change everyday, properly reflecting how a person's nuances change everyday.

You are a musical artist -- What inspires your music?

ah, inspiration is such a hard thing to pin down - especially if you are like me and tend not to think about the nuts and bolts of things. i can say that sometimes i have an itch in the back of my head, and if i don't scratch it i'll go crazy. so perhaps music is my way of getting out emotions that are pent up and hard to handle directly. perhaps it is also is my way of communicating with people without getting tripped up by words and so on. i don't know if this qualifies as inspiration, but these needs definitely empassion me to play something...

What do you like most about your life right now? What do you hate most about your life right now?

sheesh louise, that is a hard one... right now, what i like most about my life is that it's *all* mine now. what i like the least about my life is that it never moves forward at the speed i want it to. either it's too slow, or it's too fast.

so yeah, in a nutshell: i guess i like my life, but i hate the fact that i don't love it.

There has been a lot of death in your family (I am sorry for all of your losses), how do you deal with death?

ah yes, death....

i think people confuse themselves with the whole "mystery" of it - frankly, i think death is one of the few things we *do* instinctually know about. it's basic, simple, and one of the few things we all have in common. it's one of the only truly huge, universal things that we are hardwired to recognise and cope with. we may not understand "what happens next," but death itself it something we were born to experience.

as for how to deal with death, i guess it is different across the board. my mother tends to say "oh, they are doing it all wrong," and my sister tends to say "they should be doing this instead of that, if they want to feel better." those kinds of statements are pretty useless, in my opinion - every circumstance of dying is different, and every person left behind is different too.

how i dealt with death: i bottled it up. i drank heavily. i had little weeps between clenched teeth. i clung to friends without telling them why. i was very very angry for a very long time as well.

and very guilty too, because nobody has a perfect relationship... so suddenly you are left thinking: ah jeez, what about all those things left unsaid, all those things that they died with before we could get past that stuff... my father was particularly hard - he only ever knew me as a sullen, desperate, angry teenager. that makes me sad.

so i guess that part is the hardest part to get over, once the rest of the grief fades. i guess my only advice for people is to not beat yourself up over the what-ifs... and to let yourself need others, becuase let me tell you: no matter how tough you are (or are asked to be), you really will need to cling to life now and then. don't let your own stubborn insecurities keep you from reaching out and touching those still around, at least once in a awhile...

haha and i am speaking metaphorically when i say touching, dirty people :)

Okay Cello, I am a genie, and I am granting you three wishes. What will they be? (And no, you can't have one of your wishes be three more wishes -- ha ha!)

well i could wish for the standard things, but then this would be a waste of a question - how much more could you learn about me if i said "world peace"... so i will be selfish here...

wish 1: that my mother wasn't so lonely, or so dependant on pills and doctors and ailments. wish 2: that my roomate aimee would be happy in her skin, even if just for a day. wish 3: that this thing i have going leads to love - the kind that is natural and everyday as well as passionate and monumental.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

10:27 a.m.
2001-10-19

cello

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top