latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Giallothang

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Born in Brooklyn, shortly thereafter raised in the suburbs roughly 50 min outside Manhattan. This vicinity caused me to spend a good amount of time in both areas. The daughter of a Sicilian, schizophrenic, handicapped mother with a direct descendent of Nazis for a father. I am the sister of two brothers, each older, one by six years, one by three. The eldest was an abusive jerk as a child who nearly killed the other by strangulation. He has since transformed into an unusually sensitive person. The strangled victim played the part of the hero being a scholar athlete, handsome generous perfect gentlemen that even in my intense jealousy I was forced to adore him from the depths of his formidable shadow.

I left home after high school, for college north of my parents' home to seek of an education and found illegal entertainment. Three wasted years later, I became quite the loser and suffered accordingly for roughly 1.5 years. Now, I am in the painful process of picking up the pieces. That bit of mending I have managed mostly on my own, and am a bit arrogant as a result of it.

Today I am much less bitter about my upbringing as it may be portrayed in the above paragraphs. The fact is I am a product of my history, whether it was fun or not and that aforementioned arrogance causes me to feel content.

Why did you choose this username?

I basically chose this username because I wanted it to make little sense. I spent some time looking for a tag or an alias to define me as a person that would also be enticing for a person to come read. The more I tried the harder it became to find one word or phrase to define me completely. Each on seemed to only fulfill a part of me so I decided to pick something that meant nothing and let the contents of my diary define it. One of my favorite Italian words. ("giallo", which means "yellow") This is also a throwback from my years as a student, I spent 9 years in high school and college studying Italian. I was hoping to become a translator for business and at the peak of my studies I was well versed in several languages, now I'm afraid to talk to Italian waiters in restaurants. I added "thang" to match a portion of my instant messenger alias, hence, GialloThang.

Why do you keep a diary online?

At its initiation it was basically an experiment. I am received in a particular manner throughout life because of my appearance. This is also the reason for my reluctance to post a picture of myself. This may seem trite and whiny but I contain all the attributes of your garden variety bimbo, and there are times I feel it is my downfall. My name (which I have concealed for some time) is Krissy. A blond, blue eyed, big busted, bubbly girl named Krissy brings images of Three's company and I am immediately stamped a dunce. With a 156 IQ, the chip on my shoulder is fairly large to overcome this stereotypical treatment. I wanted to see how I was received without the skin deep me to blur the inner image.

Now I keep the diary as an outlet for expression. I wrote off and on through out my life leaving scraps of paper and half-filled notebooks as I passed through my travels. Sadly, many of these works have been destroyed or lost. I keep writing here and force myself to hit "send" many times rather than simply deleting it in hopes to allay the regret of my past discarding of work.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

I think that the layout is pertinent for a diary because it is in essence a location where one displays who they are. When I come to a person's URL it is like stepping into their bedroom or their private place where they feel most at home. The layout can create the image or feel of what I am about to read. It is also the image that sets the mood for me on each return visit.

This is not to say that I dislike or fault anyone for using a template. Not everyone is blessed with a job that allows time to learn how to write HTML, nor do I expect anyone to enjoy it. The content is what I come back for, not pretty pictures of dragons or scrollbars to match.

I suppose it goes along with the idea of how one dresses. Keeping a generic template is reminiscent of wearing a catholic school uniform every day. Impersonal. In my purpose this diary is a deep look into my head, I want to portray it with color and format as well as words.

You work as an IT engineer and have spent some time describing your work, which you find frustrating. What would be the job of your dreams and why?

I'm very happy that you asked this question. The title I hold is a job I enjoy. Any person who is affiliated with the industry is aware that times are tough. My company is no different. This leads to tedious little projects and temporary assignments that are mind numbing and stand a chance to lead me into psychotic behavior. I'm also a brat so everything frustrates me.

The job of my dreams would be a self employed eccentric. I would love to be financially independent so that I could write, photograph, sing, and get back into sketching. Then I could be published, recorded and paid for my creations. I enjoy artistic expression in general so it would be great to say (in the words of Ani) "Art is why I get up in the morning."

Is money the root of all evil?

I would say lack of sufficient money is the root of all evil. Perhaps greed. Anything of worth that can be passed between people will be desired, scammed for and stolen. People are the root of all evil.

No, wait. I am the root of all evil. *Devilish cackle*

You have had a difficult relationship with your mother due to her illness. If you could say something to her and know that she would accept and listen, what would it be?

I realize I may be over doing it with the links, but this is the first of two incredibly long entries describing an incident where I did just that. Sadly, my optimistic attitude in that entry is wasted on her evolution back into the miserable person she once was. At this point the thing I want to say to her most is to leave me alone. I've already said the rest. I suppose that is an evil attitude to have. Were you to know this woman, you would understand. I was told a few years back that I was one half of a set of twins, and my sister died. Never before or since has this been mentioned and to this day I have reason to believe that it was just a terrible lie. She cannot help herself which prevents me from hating her. I can see that she is not a person who is good for me so I tend to avoid personal contact with her.

Based on what I've read, you have a knack for finding yourself in situations that others find amusing. What is the funniest thing that has ever happened to you?

I spent quite a bit of time pondering what I would use as an answer here. The truth is, I have volumes of stories that entail embarassing or disgusting results. Excessive hyper linking aside, I would have to say this is the most entertaining and unique. That link will lead you to a poetic representation of me flashing the twins at a boy whilst fooling around in a sex-type way, and promptly getting my face smashed against a headboard. This was an unfortunate accident and broke my nose pretty badly.

I was quite drunk, so the pain was minimal. The most often asked question after hearing that story; "Did you finish?" That answer is, Yes.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

8:42 p.m.
2002-01-27

giallothang

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top