latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: singinchik06 -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

One afternoon in November of 1987, Rachel (that would be me) was born. Not much has happened since then. I am a short, short-tempered girl who loves music, drama, writing, and foreign language. I live in St. Charles, Missouri after short appearances in St. Louis, Charlotte NC, and Maryland Heights MO. I live with my parents and crazy grandparents. I have a cat and a dog. The dog is stupid. The cat is pretty smart. I'm pretty smart, too. My mom says I'm pretty much a smart-aleck. I'm in eighth grade and yearning for high school. Everyone says it will be loads of fun. I can only hope!

Why did you choose this username?

I'm not sure where it started, but I have used a variant of singinchik and either my birth year, 87, or my High school graduating year, 06. I think it is pretty self-explanatory, I am a girl who loves to sing!

Why do you keep a diary online?

Well, I started the diary because I was threatened by my friend Nicole which is a bit sad, as she never updates. I kept it going because it allowed me an outlet for my feelings so I didn't vent at my friends and family. I also made a few friends because of the diary, and I learned a lot of HTML skills and such. The diary is just a continuation of me now! The problem is some of my other friends have found it and sometimes I write about my current feeling about THEM!

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Well, I think a nice layout is important, but not necessary. I don't think it's fair to force people to use a non-Dland template or to skip a diary with one, because some people (such as myself a few months ago) don't know the far range of things they can do with their diary. However, if the layout is so ill-designed or garish that I cannot stand it, I'll pass. Mine was designed by PooDesigns, and I changed a few minor things. I like it, but I know it isn't most people's "style". When I got the layout, it fit me well, but it doesn't so much anymore. I think layouts are a good way to get an idea of the kind of person you are.

You talk about a boy named Bennett a lot. Can you share with us who he is and what he means to you?

Oh...this is hard to explain, in a way. You might expect pages about it, but really our relationship is simple. We became friends a few years ago, when he transferred to my school and we were in the gifted program together. When I got to know him, I realized that he was the *perfect* guy (or at least as close as you can get!). I had a "crush" on him for a few years, and that's essentially what I still have. For a year or so now I have believed myself "in love" with him. I have so many reasons, but many of my friends can't see them. He is a bit reclusive, and a little high-strung. When someone he doesn't know tries to talk to him, he takes a snap decision on whether they are stupid or not, and he won't talk to them if they are. But he is generally a nice, caring person and once you become friends with him, he is a loyal friend. To me, he is adorable both physically and mentally. He has the most amazing facial expressions which I pride myself on being able to read. We had! a conversation once just using our eyes. Bennett is like a brother to me, too. He sees me more as a sister than anything else. When he found out that I liked a slimeball (who he hates) he kept trying to convince me that I was "better than that". It was hilarious (then again, I'm weird....maybe it wasn't funny). Bennett is an amazing person, and I'm sorry you can't meet him!

You wrote about your emotional trip to the Holocaust Museum once, could you tell us why it affected you?

I am not a very nice person sometimes. I have a very quick temper, and sometimes I kick people. Getting past that (I'm such a hypocrite), I believe that people should not be (seriously) injured, mentally or physically, for no reason. The idea of the Holocaust was to wipe out an entire religion, a religion with people who were essential to society as well as people who were simple people. They never hurt anyone, and even when they were persecuted, they didn't fight back (this is as a group, not as individuals). I am in awe over the courage of the Jewish people of the time. I am also afraid that another Holocaust will come to pass once again. I am sure there have been others many times over, but we in America do not learn of them because we have no part in them. I don't want this to come to pass again, and I want to help make sure it doesn't. The museum itself was a bit different. It was not so much the displays, but the speaker who affected me. She was a survivor of the work camps. This little woman, who reminded me so much of my mother and my grandfather, had more courage, and more horrible memories, than I will ever hope to dream of. She was so sweet, and so devoted to God, that I couldn't help but cry for her immediately because she, and too many others like her, had been treated so badly for no reason at all.

Throughout your poetry, love seems to be a recurring theme. Where do you draw your inspirations from?

I haven't ever known love in the traditional sense, but I like to think there is more of a yearning tone to my poems which pertains to the unrequited love I hold for none other than Bennett. I'd have to say that I make up my inspiration...that doesn't really make sense, but sometimes I get seized with a desire to write and express something, and my natural outlet (besides diary writing of course!) is poetry.

Okay, now we always do one fun little question, so here's yours: You're chosen to be a contestant on the next Survivor series and you're allowed to bring one item with you. What would it be?

Hmmm....well, I'm assuming the thing cannot be alive, so I would have to go with my bassoon. I'd have to take all associated with it, though, such as reeds, music, etc. and I'm not sure that's allowed! So, if that doesn't work, then I would take...hmm, I can't think of any independent item! I'd take a paper diary, with a pen, so I could record things and put down my emotions so they didn't show. I find that you have to have an emotional "poker face" in the Survivor game!

Interviewed by Notum

previous next

most recently:

4:37 p.m.
2002-02-07

singinchik06

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top