latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Notum -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

Okay then, I was born on a dark and stormy night, seriously. I've lived in or around the town of Appleton, WI all my life. Currently, I'm a Junior in high school, where I'm heavily into performance arts, almost to an obsessive, unhealthy, "Bye bye free time!" level. I live at my home with my mom, dad, brother, a cocker spaniel, and a rat. I enjoy eating, sleeping, video games, updating my journal, and recently, I've gotten into the phenomenon of hardcore japanese death match wrestling. But enough about me, what's your sign, baby?

Why did you choose this username?

Ooh, long story short, Notum is my alter ego. Everyone has a person inside of their minds that they wish they could be more like...I wouldn't necessarily want to be more like Notum, but he's definitely all of my cooler traits x3.

I came up with him for an online Mortal Kombat tournement, and I sorta bonded with my creation. Now, he's currently co-starring in a manga comic I'd love to produce, if only I had artistic ability. But he's all my own, and he certainly seems like a real person to me, at times. I've actually lost friends, wait, more like jack-asses, because they've insulted him.

Why do you keep a diary online?

I forget what first triggered me to think "Hey! Keeping an on-line diary, where thousands of people worldwide could read about my thoughts! Fun!" But, my friend Calie originally introduced me to Diaryland, and I started up. Somewhere along the line, though, I realized that I could actually be myself on it.

What I mean by that is, I'd kept personal journals before, but it seemed so stupid. Writing all my thoughts down, in a place where only I could see them? I purposely kept it boring, so that the stupid idea would seem like someone else was writing it. But now that I'm on Diaryland, I can actually use my humor and biting witticisms to make people laugh. And as long as I can continue doing it, I will.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Personally, I don't get what the big deal over layouts are. If your diary can make me laugh, cry, think differently about a topic, what have you, then I don't care whether you have the frilly pink Diaryland template or a peice of art as your background that you spent over 3 weeks perfecting. I'd love to say that my using the blue Diaryland template is something overly symbolic, but I keep it just for two simple reasons. 1: I have absolutely NO HTML knowledge. I actually recruited a friend of mine, SpookyTurtle to change around my layout just so my graffiti box wouldn't automatically make my page scroll down. And 2: I like blue.

You are a very patriotic person, share with me your views on the attacks on the United States. Namely, what do you think we should be doing as a country?

Patriotic? I suppose that's in the eye of the beholder, but I personally don't feel very patriotic. In person, I can be very critical of the government. The only reason I don't write about all that in my journal is because I wouldn't want to bore you all with why I choose to be an Independant (It's actually because both Democrats and Republicans are morons). As a country, I think we should try to move on as a country. Osama bin Laden attacked us because he wanted to kill us, but he also wanted to cripple our morale, and ourselves as a nation. What better way to prove him dead wrong than by trying to resume our lives? Obviously, it's going to be harder for some than others, due to loss of loved ones, but if I, personally, lost someone I loved dearly in the 9/11 attacks, there'd be nothing I'd want more than to make the person responsible know that he failed in his goal, and then die when we respond. Although, I think I have been getting a bit more patriotic with the "bread and bombs" policy. I think that's a great decision from Dubyah. Kill those responsible, and help those that have been oppressed by them.

And if I've offended anyone in any way with my political opinions, you may kiss my ass.

Tell me about your sensitive side.

Oh, fantastic! I really hate talking about my sensitive side, but...Sometimes, the joking has to stop, and I need to be serious. This has occured on a few subjects, death of pets, the WTC attacks, loss of friends...In these entries, I'll always have a great entry planned out in my mind, but it never seems to be as great on cyberspace as in my head, so I try not to let my sensitive side show, because the majority of these entries, I don't think they turn out well at all. Although, I did write one wishing that humans would all be dogs so we couldn't understand about any of this, and there's a sentance or two that never fails to make me misty-eyed in there...

"Everytime I see my dog, I get envious. He has no idea what's going on. All Dexter knows is that the people he lives with still feed him, play with him, let him out when he needs it... He has no idea what kind of terror happened to people halfway across our country. He doesn't comprehend that there might be other dogs out there like him, except for one thing: Their masters aren't coming back to feed them when they're hungry or play with them when they need to release energy."

Tell me about your values

Values? I can be bought at Shopko for $399.95, Wal-Mart for $235.14 after mail-in rebate...Just kidding! I really have no idea how to answer this, since "values" is such a wide subject, but...God, I'm like no one you'll ever meet again, that's all I can say.

Okay Notum, you are at an Orgy, you get to invite ten people, who would they be? And why?

Alrighty... This is gonna be fun. 1) I know she's not real, but Elise from the PS2 game "SSX". If you've ever seen her, you know why no reason is needed.
2) LeeLee Sobieski, but I have absolutely no idea why. We'll just let that stand.
3) Emystica, because we've already done worse in the chat. Hehe, barstools and orange traffic cones were never talked about so creatively.
4) The WWF's Lita, because she is the embodiment of beauty, athleticism, and personality. And the thongs ain't bad...
5) My friend Ali, just to see the hilarious response I'd get from her being mentioned.
6) Denise Richards. Straight out of The World Is Not Enough. No comments.
7) Drew Barrymore, sure it'd be too easy (He he), but why not?
8) The Greek Goddess Aphrodite. Hey, I'm never going to be in an orgy with Denise, LeeLee, and Drew, so whyy not add to the fantasy?
9) Britney Spears. See #7 comments.
10) SpookyTurtle, because he'd probably enjoy it, and girl on girl on girl on girl on girl on girl on girl on girl on girl on girl is sorta like eating only the deserts at a buffet, pardon the pun. Girl on girl on girl x3 would be much more manageable.

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

2:58 p.m.
2001-10-28

notum

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top