latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Gothdaria

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was shot out into this world April 8, 1981. Your typical 80's baby, I was given a typical 80's baby name - Amanda, which has doomed me to always ask, "Which Amanda?" in class. Bred and born in Somerset, Kentucky, I lived there my whole life until this last year, when I finally meandered off to Eastern Kentucky University. I'm the proud owner of your average dorm room, an out-of-date IBM Aptiva and a ridiculous amount of posters. My anime collection is rapidly increasing due to my obsession with this style. My boyfriend of 6 months isn't helping that any, either. I'd like to think I'm an individual, or at least weird.

Why did you choose this username?

At first, it was because I was trying, yet again, to break into some sort of clich� - this time of the goth variety. Now I can safely say that the reason I keep it is because it's a sort of contradiction. I'm a fan of the MTV show 'Daria' and it nearly broke my heart when they announced they were pulling the plug on it. In one episode, 'The Misery Chick', everyone kept referring to Daria as a depressed and one of those misery chicks. At the end, she answered a class question in an English class on Tennyson basically calling him a realist and that no one pegged him as an unhappiness freak for it. Goths are often viewed as constantly-depressed black wearing people - but many are realists. Daria is not depressed yet seen that way - she's a realist. See the connection? :) In some ways, I myself am like that - I'm just a realist

Why do you keep a diary online?

I suck at keeping a real one, plain and simple. Me and paper journals have never mixed. For one thing, people in my house are way too nosey, particularly my former sister-in-law. She used to love to read the paper one I kept (and sparsely wrote in) and then subtly ask me about whatever I had written in there. I figured hell, if everyone else is going to read it, why shouldn't the general public? My diary, in this last year, has come to encapsulate everything I want that I could never discover in a living person: someone who will listen to my incessant bitching and take note of my opinions. Likewise, it's become a good tool, not only for my Wiccan faith but for the expansion of my writing ability as well.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Honestly, it depends on the person. For some, the layout is the diary, for others it is merely a component of the diary but still important and, with others still, it matters very little. Personally, I love to see a well laid-out diary that, in particular, reflects the person's personality. My own diary is in it's third incarnation right now, due to my expanding knowledge of HTML. On this latest try, the girl to the side is none other than Lain from the anime 'Serial Experiments Lain'. I haven't had an opportunity to see any of the anime itself yet, but I love the look and feel of the girl there. The quote above her is all my own, from a poem I have going at the moment.

Tell me about High School, and what it was like for you?

I'm glad to be out of that place. Really and truly. People who say they wish they were back in highschool obviously had a better experience than me. I was a mixed up kid (who wasn't, though?) that thought if she just lost weight, if she just got rid of that acne, if she just had a boyfriend, she would fit in. It didn't take long for me to figure out that it was never going to work. I didn't belong with the populars, the punks didn't accept me and I wasn't even in the ranks of outcast. I, with much glee, kissed that place goodbye my senior year and rarely miss it now.

What do you hope to achieve in College, other than the obvious -- and education?

I hope to figure out who I am or, morever, what I really do want out of life. It might sound stupid but the maturing I never did in highschool, I'm doing now. I want to figure out if I really want to be a Psychologist or if I would rather do something else. I think some people have to go to college and strive for a certain goal before they can see that maybe that goal isn't what they want.

Tell us all about your bad habits:)

Do you really want this to turn into a short essay? ;)
My number one bad habit is procrastination. I'm so lax about keeping myself to any sort of schedule, be it study or class. We don't even need to get into the discussion of finishing papers for those classes either.

My second is being a perfectionist. In some people, being a perfectionist is a good thing. In me, being a perfectionist would be good if I was a perfectionist in the classes area. Of course, I'm a perfectionist in the self-image area. I'm overly harsh about myself when I don't come up to par or snuff with other people. There are some other things I'm a perfectionist in, namely writing or HTML.

Third, I'm stubborn. But what do you really expect from an Aries? I've always been stubborn, so claims my poor mother who had to put up with me as a kid. Once I settle my mind on something, I really do not change it. And, sometimes, it takes quite a bit of convincing to do so.

Fourth, I don't know how to control my anger. I'm not often angry but when I do get upset, I tend to either blow up or cry. Plus, the fact that I have little patience doesn't help the equation any.

You are on a desert island, with only yourself and Jason Priestly. You can bring three things for the two of you to share, what are they?

A house, shaving cream and copies of 90210. We could build a campfire, tell ghost stories and burn old copies of 90210. Then, while he was asleep, I'd cover Jason in shaving cream just for the hell of it.

Now if I could have brought more things, I'd definitely bring nailpolish, my boi and a generator for electricity. That way, me and Jason could have a nice feminine moment and do each others nails! Boi claimed he would lock Jason outside the house and the pair of us would watch anime and horror movies for the rest of the day.

Come to think about it, you know what would be interesting - 90210 meets Survivor. Think about it :) The possibilities!!!

Interviewed by Trinity63

previous next

most recently:

12:06 p.m.
2001-11-02

gothdaria

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top