latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Tenderpoison -

Why did you choose this username?

It's actually the name of my favourite perfume. It's just luck that makes it suit my personality, kind of. My mom will tell you I wear my heart on my sleeve, I'm generous and loving. You've got three chances to take advantage of that, and on the third time, I show no mercy. Granted, my mom is obligated to say that. Okay, so she's obligated to say the first part.

I've got twin older brothers, and they always used to mess with me. When I was about a year old, they were just bugging me all day, and they wouldn't let me up on the couch. I guess I'd decided I'd had enough and went banshee on them, kicking and screaming and flailing. I had them backed onto the couch. They decided from then on that maybe they shouldn't mess with me quite as much. And so I've carried on...

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

To be honest, I haven't got a clue. I'm an exhibitionist at heart? I think it's good to have feedback on your life, the things you do, your thoughts. Checks and balances. People on the internet are ruthless, but they provide a very strong check. Questioning yourself is a good thing, as long as you know when to quit (I'm working on it).

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Layout is definitely important, for two reasons. If you're looking for the readers, no one really wants to see that sunset template over and over again (maybe that's just me). But also, your layout, if done by you will reflect who you are, your interests, how you generally feel and help you get your point across, to yourself and others. Side note - this is why I don't really approve of others designing your layout for you. If you don't know HTML, think of something you want to see on your page and then ask for help. - End side note

What's to say about my layout? It's changed so many times over the year and some. Outlooks change, preferences change. It's always been mostly grey or black, though. Hm. The most recent layout I think reflects my intents well. I just want to be understood. Somebody hold me...hee hee

You have been at Diaryland for a long time - since December 1999, if your archive page is anything to go by. How do you think your writing has changed, if at all? Any tips for diarists just starting out on how to keep up the interest in updating?

December 1999, 'tis true. I think my writing's changed quite a bit, or so I hope, at the very least. It used to be, "this is what I did today, and it was good/bad." I'd like to think it's gone a bit beyond that and into my thoughts and true feelings on subject. Though I do have moments where I do just want attention, so I'll write an entry on how I can tie a knot in a cherry stem with my tongue or something.

Personally, I'm not sure what keeps my writing. I've always been a huge fan of words (blame my mom for that one, for teaching me to read when I was three), and I've always written. My shelves and cupboards are cluttered with notebooks and scrap paper with all kinds of things written on them. Honestly, you want to keep updating - get an emotional disorder. Okay, no. My suggestion would be to just sit down once a day and write whatever is on your mind. Kind of like in Finding Forrester where Sean Connery's character had the boy sit down and just write. What you really intend to say, I think, will eventually flow.

That, and listen to depressing music. Okay, okay...

What was the inspiration behind "boy & girl archive"? And which are the made-up bits...? (okay, you don't have to tell).

Okay, here we go, the open, honest, brutal truth behind Boy and Girl. Each story has been inspired by a boy in my life, an unattainable one, usually. Whatever guy I'm thinking about at the moment will usually inspire some kind of, "I wish I could do that with him..." thing so I write it down. Girl is who I wish I could be, and I suppose sometimes am. Unattainable guys and unattainable moments.

The made up bits are just about all of it. The parts that aren't made up are the big picture. For example, two people watch tv together. Yeah, I've watched tv with someone before. I've never had someone run their fingers through my hair and kiss gently at my neck and let me fall asleep until I wake up in their arms. Just an example.

You have quite an open link to your web site and web cam in your journal. Does the fact that your identity is not obscured make you write differently?

I think it does, for sure. While I think it helps in reminding me to tell the whole story, it also will stop me from writing particular things. Not to hide it, just because there are some things people simply do not want to know about you. I've got another diary for all that stuff! Shhh!

But yes, if you're not hiding your identity, I think you're less likely to hold back.

I noticed you share my preference for boys with long hair. However...do you prefer light or dark hair?

......huh? Oh, I'm sorry. Let me just wipe this drool from my chin. Now, about those long haired boys I was just thinking of.

Do I prefer light or dark hair? Yes, I do.

Tough call here. I think I will go with dark hair. Only a slight advantage, though, because dark hair is usually accompanied by dark eyes. Mmmmm...

Thanks for the interview!!

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

1:13 a.m.
2001-10-04

tenderpoison

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top