latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: Toothbrush -

Why did you choose this username?

I could refer you to the April 12, 2001 entry, but really there is a lot more to it than just my obsession with oral hygiene. This isn't my first diary, but my other one sucked because it was a distinctive username and I figured it would be far too easy for someone who knew me to find it. Thus, that diary was extremely boring because I never wanted to get into anything personal.

"Toothbrush" is not very distinctive. A toothbrush is one of those things that pretty much everyone uses pretty much everyday (let's hope), but that very few people think about much. They just replace it every once in a while when the bristles start to get too out of hand. So a diarist with the username of toothbrush could probably be just about anyone, since a toothbrush itself is not really associated with age, gender, religion, nationality, sexual orientation, etc.

But toothbrushes can also hold a deeper significance. Often, the most important sign that a relationship is getting serious is when your lover's toothbrush ends up staying in your bathroom. Home is where your toothbrush is.

It's a social taboo to use someone else's toothbrush, even if you engage in much dirtier things with that person on a regular basis. Then there's that rule about keeping your toothbrush at least five feet(?) away from your toilet. I think society is secretly obsessed with the toothbrush.

You could also think of "toothbrush" as relating to the daily act of writing in a diary. It's part of the routine.

And do I even have to mention that a toothbrush is very phallically suggestive? Well, it is.

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

Like most diarists, I actually do enjoy the craft of writing. I know I could just write in a paper journal or keep the text files on my computer where only I would have access to them, but there is something deeply satisfying in knowing that strangers all over the world will find what I have written, read it, and might even get something out of it. I know I would never have even thought of keeping an online diary had I not read some great diaries by total strangers.

Also, there is definitely a sense of community here on Diaryland. I read a lot of diarists who also read my toothbrush chronicles and I find such comfort in that. While we all have our unique experiences and share them in different ways, it's amazing to find so many essentially like-minded people or, alternately, to find such different people sharing the similar experiences. I also love reading diaries of people and recognizing in them traits of people in my own life that I ordinarily wouldn't give the time of day. It's sort of an oh-he's-a-total-asshole-why-bother? mentality. Reading the diary of someone like that can give one special insight into those challenging stereotypes. Maybe I am a challenging stereotype to some of my readers.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

Although I am most certainly guilty of personal template vanity, I think too much importance is placed on the aesthetics of online diaries, and not enough on the actual writing. I know I must sound like a total hypocrite seeing as I designed or helped design several other diaries on Diaryland, but my own selfish motivation behind that was encouraging the diarists (mostly friends of mine) to continue writing.

While it is certainly nice to have an attractive layout, I don't care much what it looks like as long as there isn't anything too garishly distracting. Also, it helps if can actually read it. I am definitely a font snob. I favour a clear, readable font like Arial, Century Gothic, Trebuchet or Verdana that is not a fixed size (damned CSS!) just in case my failing eyesight means that I need to make it bigger. Ooooooh, Georgia is a nice font too.

As for my layout, well. It is definitely green. I use the AIFragment font for the graphics and Century Gothic for the actual text. I must give credit to the folks at Oral B for designing the Oral B Cross Action toothbrush that inspired me. I should also give credit to the numerous dentists' websites that I stole the teeth images for the "older", "guestbook", "email" and "rings" graphics, but I can't remember where I found them. The "new" teeth are those of Marilyn Monroe as painted by James Rosenquist in 1962. The "diaryland" teeth are my own.

You really seem to have a way with words. Is there an author hiding behind that big, green toothbrush?

Uh.

What prompted you to choose Diaryland? How have you enjoyed it so far?

Well, the first online diary I ever read (the Top Secret Diary of Mary Chen) was on Diaryland and I knew of other people who used Diaryland as well. It seemed to be pretty hassle-free; no ads on your actual diary are a plus. It's been over a year and I must say that Diaryland seems to keep getting better and better. Every time I turn around, there is another useful new feature. I do so love that Andrew fellow.

You have quite an open link to your web site (complete with webcam! woo!) in your journal. Does the fact that your identity is not obscured make you write differently?

Yeah, oh. Thanks for reminding me that was there. I'm thinking of taking it down. Not that very many people click that link anyway, but I figure just having that link there is asking for trouble. Some person with too much time on their hands has already taken advantage of that as it is. I really wouldn't want someone who actually does know me in real life to stumble across my toothbrush diary, not realizing that it was I until they saw that link. Oh wait! That's already happened. Nevermind.

As for the real question, no I don't think it makes me write much differently, but I don't think I can judge that. To be honest, I really don't mind if people who read my diary first happen to visit the other website and know what I look like. It's the vice versa that I wouldn't want.

How many times a day should we brush our teeth?

Recently, I was scolded by my dentist for excessive tooth brushing. I swear, it's true. Apparently six times a day is far too often. Also, I tend to be a little aggressive with the toothbrush. This is also very bad as it can cause your precious gums to wear away.

My dentist said that brushing once in the morning and once at night is enough, and that it is very important not to brush in a violent side-to-side motion, but rather gently down from the gums on the top teeth and up from the gums on the bottom teeth. Daily flossing is very important as well as gargling with an antibacterial rinse. (Oral B makes a good one, naturally.) (Those people at Oral B should start paying me royalties soon, goddamnit.)

For fresher breath, I recommend brushing your tongue. The hygienist said that this is another excellent way to get rid of bacteria on your tongue that can cause bad breath. The especially bad bacteria reside near the back of your tongue but of course, it is difficult to brush that far back. The gagging reflex can be such a nuisance.

Interviewed by GingerBug

previous next

most recently:

1:13 a.m.
2001-10-04

toothbrush

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top