latest

archive

about

apply

faq

diaryzine

Link back:







More buttons...

Today's Interview: WitchMedic -

Please give a short bio of yourself for our readers.

I was born in Germany 22 years ago and have since lived in four other countries - Great Britain, France, Croatia and the United States. I've got an older sister named Nicole, and four pet cats named Bandit, Hemingway, Raven and Maus. I've been married and an army wife since 1997. I work for the American Red Cross and also take correspondence courses through Charter Oak State College to possibly become a professional writer, or at least a freelance writer. At the moment I'm trying to get a little business off the ground, which can be found at http://eadan.cjb.net

Why did you choose this username?

This is actually a long story... It all started with my hospital job. A friend of mine thought it would be funny scaring me and poked a thumb tack through his finger and started to scream. I told him, "EWW! Pull it out and I'll give you a band aid."

Because of that, he nicknamed me LousyMedic, which - believe it or not - was already taken as a nick on the chat I usually go to (DalNet - yes, I'm a mIRC addict). Since it was taken I went with Medic554. The "554" originates in an army course on treating wounds in the field, subcourse med554.

I originally got a diary here under Medic554 where I copied over my paper diaries from high school, but then I became more interested in keeping a diary of my present exploits, which required me to chose a new nick. Since I'm a pagan, I decided on WitchMedic, which, of course, also makes fun of the term witch doctor.

Why do you keep a diary on-line?

Why. Hmmm... Originally, I started the diary to bitch about my roommates and to write down things that happen to me during the day so I can look back on them and sort them out, and just to have a record. Lately, however, I've also used it to "show off" some of my art, poetry, writings - you name it. If it's something I'm interested in, I've shared it on here.

I've started writing more for an audience and I'm trying to write daily, which has helped me tremendously as a writer. This diary has quickly turned into a scrapbook of my life and times, and I'm planning on keeping this up for awhile.

How important do you think a layout is for a web-based diary? Would you also comment on yours?

As they say in Germany, "Das Auge isst mit", or "The eye eats, too". A good design is usually what catches my interest first when I look at any kind of website. If a site has colors that are difficult on the eyes, or flashing and blinking items all over it, I'm not very likely to read it.

I also really like it when people express themselves, not just through their writing, but also through their look. If they wrote in old fashioned diaries on paper, they'd chose ones they like and put little doodles, photos, and such in it, and I really enjoy it when people do the same online.

My own design took quite a few different tries to get it just the way I wanted it. I decided to go with something simple that wouldn't be too distracting from the text, and that would show a bit of my interests. One of my hobbies is photography, and those who have read me also know that I re-enact Vietnam (strange as that may sound) and "play" a war correspondent there. That's why I decided to go with the black and white photography. The pictures I used came out of "Requiem", which is a book of photography by the journalists who were either killed or went missing in Vietnam.

You collect a lot of militaria from various ages and times (swords, guns, etc). Why?

My love of swords actually was "inherited" from my aunt. When I was little I would spend a lot of time at her condo where the walls were decorated with medieval things - tapestries, swords, crossbows, and such. She bought me my first (non-sharpened) sword when I was 7, and I've been interested in them ever since, though I've mainly taken a liking to Japanese swords.

Besides the swords, I collect militaria - anything from World War I and newer. That collection originally started when I was 13 and my grandmother decided to clean up the attic, which produced a large number of German WWII documents, photos and medals. She was about to throw it out when I got a hold of them. Having all these old family photos, I decided to see if I could put them together by years and location, and I started learning more about history. Since I lived in Europe at the time, I had a chance to visit many of these places I learned about. I decided to keep collecting those pieces of history whenever I could find one at a good price.

Your layout, extra links, and many of your diary entries all deal with the U.S. Military. What started your interest in the military and why does it persist today?

Since I was around 7 I've always wanted to be a pilot (which was in no way whatsoever influenced by my then favorite TV show, "Blacksheep Squadron", I assure you). Large commercial airliners never appealed to me - F-16s did.

Unfortunately, I have worn glasses since I was 9 years old because I'm near sighted, so flying isn't an option. I started looking around to see what other jobs were available in the military and actually almost enlisted but met my husband (who's in the army) at the time and got married. So instead of becoming a soldier, I became an army wife and went on to do my correspondence courses and all that. Though, I'm still thinking about joining - after I'm done with college.

How have the WTC attacks affected your life personally?

My daily personal life hasn't actually been affected that much. I didn't know anyone who was at the World Trade Center or the Pentagon at the time the attacks happened, so I fortunately didn't have to mourn the loss of any friends.

I can't say that I'm any more scared to get on an aircraft or visit a landmark - after all, getting on with daily life is the best thing we can do right now.

One thing that scares me, however, is the way people now treat a whole community of Arab Americans who were born in this country or who live her legally. Going around and beating them up isn't an answer, it's exactly what the terrorists want.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what one thing would you most like to have with you?

I'm a practical person, so I think I would take a sharp knife. It's got the most uses :)

Interviewed by Devnullicus

previous next

most recently:

2:35 p.m.
2001-10-08

witchmedic

latest interviews

Bye until our move! - 2003-05-03
drastane - 2003-05-03
whymeohgod - 2003-05-03
jamiestar - 2003-05-03
blinkme-182 - 2003-05-03

For all previous interviews, see our ARCHIVE

For how to apply for an interview, read our RULES

To talk with other diarists, visit our FORUM

To leave a message for Interview, sign our GUESTBOOK

To help us and be really cool, you can LINK to us!

We support the AUCTIONS

This site is hosted by DIARYLAND

designed by bug::design

back to top